The Selective Collective: Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt

SC2_edited-3

For our first March pick Gone Pecan will be featuring a review of:

gv

Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt

When Mallory’s boyfriend, Jeremy, cheats on her with an online girlfriend, Mallory decides the best way to de-Jeremy her life is to de-modernize things too. Inspired by a list of goals her grandmother made in1962, Mallory swears off technology and returns to a simpler time (when boyfriends couldn’t cheat with computer avatars). The List:
1. Run for pep club secretary
2. Host a fancy dinner party/soiree
3. Sew a dress for Homecoming
4. Find a steady
5. Do something dangerous
But simple proves to be crazy-complicated, and the details of the past begin to change Mallory’s present. Add in a too-busy grandmother, a sassy sister, and the cute pep-club president–who just happens to be her ex’s cousin–and soon Mallory begins to wonder if going vintage is going too far.

Characters:

Mallory is sooo in love with her first boyfriend, Jeremy. Sure, she wishes that their relationship was less about kissing and that he understood her more, but he’s just so cute that she can live with the shortcomings.

Ginny is Mallory’s younger sister.  She seems to be more mature and grounded than Mallory (in fact, for a while, I thought Ginny was older and in college). I enjoyed their relationship.  They were always there for each other, true best friends.

Jeremy doesn’t seem to know what he wants. He has conflicting feelings and loyalties.  I think he really did have strong feelings for Mallory but felt he had to hide who he was just like Mallory sometimes felt that Jeremy didn’t understand her.

Oliver. I cannot say enough about this guy. He was AWESOME. He was smart, and cool in the way that he didn’t really care what anyone thought, he was his own person and didn’t apologize for not conforming to the high school ideals.  I loved how he treated Mallory even before he finally understood that they had broken up.  He was a stand up guy.

Conflict:

Mallory finds out that Jeremy has been virtually “married” to another girl on an online game and sees emails between the two of them that shows their relationship is more emotionally involved than his is with Mallory.  Mallory breaks up with him in a very public way, then goes offline for a while.  In the meantime, she stumbles across a list her grandmother’s junior year in high school and begins to believe that if she would start living her life like it’s 1962, everything would be easier.  Mallory assumes that when her grandmother was growing up, life was all peachy keen and innocent and ideal. So Mallory sets out to give up technology (because without it, Jeremy couldn’t have cheated on her) and wants to try to accomplish the tasks on the list her grandmother made all those years ago.  During the course of trying to complete her list, she learns a lot about herself and her family.

Overall:

I really liked Mallory.  I felt that I understood her and we were kind of kindred spirits.  She was a little wacky, but funny and smart.  I loved her interactions with her father and sister, but I think she may have been a little hard on her mother, but looking back, I can kind of understand her feelings and why she felt the way she did. I loved learning about her grandmother’s past and I like that we learned that looking at things through rose colored glasses only distorts the picture, it’s not a true representation of what is in front of us.  Mallory grew up in the book and I was glad that the experience helped her in ways that she wouldn’t have expected.

Liked our review?  Check out all the other great SC posts about this book!

Casting Call:  Who would you cast in Going Vintage? – Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

Freebie Post:   –  How I Went Vintage – Candice @ The Grown-Up YA

Roudtable Discussion:  Going Vintage – Sandie @ Diana @ Teen Lit Rocks

Author Q & A + Giveaway – Going Vintage – Tee @ YA Crush

Thanks to Bloomsbury for allowing us to feature Going Vintage on the SC.

11 thoughts on “The Selective Collective: Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt

  1. […] Gone Pecan- Review […]

  2. Diana March 14, 2013 at 7:16 am Reply

    I love your review. I especially agree with what you said about Oliver. I thought he was awesome. I love your review, I really liked “Going Vintage” and thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

    • Daphne March 14, 2013 at 10:06 am Reply

      thanks, Diana!

  3. Candice March 14, 2013 at 9:20 am Reply

    Oh Oliver… I kept picturing a younger Darcy from LBD (I know, I know… you haven’t watched them…) and it made him all the more swoony! Definitely loved this book!

    • Daphne March 14, 2013 at 10:06 am Reply

      i do need to watch LBD, putting it on my list 🙂 Oliver was a catch, to be sure

  4. Brittany March 14, 2013 at 9:54 am Reply

    Great review! I Loooooved Oliver (I don’t know why I swooned so hard, but I did) and I loved reading about Mallory & her sister!
    I think we all really enjoyed this one! 🙂

    • Daphne March 14, 2013 at 10:05 am Reply

      yes, this was definitely a hit across the board 🙂

  5. Tee March 14, 2013 at 1:11 pm Reply

    We all swooned hard because Oliver was stinking adorable! I loved him! I loved this whole book. It just made me happy. I could read it again right now. Great review, girls.

  6. Sandie @Teen Lit Rocks March 14, 2013 at 11:13 pm Reply

    I love smart and sensitive guys who are sure of themselves and don’t expect their girls to change. Oliver and Sean Griswold are both great guys. I think I liked each of them even more than the girls 😉

    • Daphne March 15, 2013 at 7:30 am Reply

      ooh, good, because I have Sean Griswold waiting for me to open up.

  7. Top 10 Tuesday #76 | Gone Pecan June 25, 2013 at 8:08 am Reply

    […] (and Ethan) go.  7.  The Archived by Victoria Schwab – A great start to a new series!  8.  Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt – One of our SC books and definitely a favorite for me this year.  I’m […]

Leave a Reply

