This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E Smith

hll

If fate sent you an email, would you answer?

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O’Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds.

Then Graham finds out that Ellie’s Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media’s spotlight at all costs?

Source:  Poppy/Little, Brown via Netgalley

Bonus:  2013 YA Contemporary Challenge

Story Breakdown:

After a misspelled email address Ellie and Graham become cross country email pen pals.  The only thing is Ellie thinks Graham is just a normal guy, not a huge move star.  When a filming location issue comes up Graham convinces the powers that be to move the movie shoot  to Maine, where Ellie is. . .

Character Highlights:

Ellie – God why can’t I have red hair?!  There is nothing bad I can say about her, she is super cute and the sweetest character you could read about.  You can see that she genuinely cares for Graham and is willing to take what time she has with him, regardless of the possible future plans and how jaded she may be from past life experiences.

Graham – Instant love.  He adopted a pig and quotes Charlotte’s Web?!  DId you hear that?  That was my heart exploding.  He is so cute (in my head) and the sweetest thing, not what you expect for him being an actor.  You see the celebrity’s side of the paparazzi and the loneliness that comes with being in the spotlight.  I know so many people don’t feel sorry and that they bring it upon themselves but after reading this you might have a different opinion.

Quinn – Ellie’s best friend.  I loved that she wasn’t a jealous type about Graham at all but I was hurt (on behalf of Ellie) when she took offense to the secrets she felt Ellie was keeping from her and even when Ellie really needed a friend she stepped up too late IMO.

Overall Thoughts:  I’m not going to lie.  I immediately starting smiling ear to ear in the prologue.  Ms. Smith has won me over.  I honestly don’t know what to say other than it was ADORABLE.  This book is a swoonfest of emotions and tingly feelings.  It must be purchased and given a special place on your keeper shelf.

5/5

5 thoughts on “This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E Smith

  1. Quinn March 18, 2013 at 11:58 am Reply

    Adorable is exactly how I would describe this one, too!

    Also, I totally want red hair too! If I could pull it off with my skintone I so would. But alas, it isn’t so.

    • Gone Pecan March 18, 2013 at 1:38 pm Reply

      I’ve dyed mine a few times. . .but my hair is so dark that to get the shade I’d want I would have to bleach the whole thing. EEP. Glad you you thought it was cute too!

  2. Alice in Readerland March 18, 2013 at 12:45 pm Reply

    Aww, I love everything you said about this book, it sounds so cute! I’ll definitely be reading this one! I loved the writing style in The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and I’m glad that Ellie is so sweet and likable! 🙂 Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    • Gone Pecan March 18, 2013 at 1:39 pm Reply

      Thanks! Can’t wait to see what you have to say after you read it.

  3. bookgoonie March 19, 2013 at 5:48 am Reply

    WANT NOW. I think she may be the Queen of Adorable. Even if it wasn’t good, the cover art would have me buying it regardless.

Leave a Reply

