How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer

zoeWhen cousins Zoe and Jess land summer internships at the Fairyland Kingdom theme park, they are sure they’ve hit the jackpot. With perks like hot Abercrombie-like Prince Charmings and a chance to win the coveted $25,000 Dream & Do grant, what more could a girl want?

Once Zoe arrives, however, she’s assigned to serve “The Queen”-Fairyland’s boss from hell. From spoon-feeding her evil lapdog caviar, to fetching midnight sleeping tonics, Zoe fears she might not have what it takes to survive the summer, much less win the money.

Soon backstabbing interns, a runaway Cinderella, and cutthroat competition make Zoe’s job more like a nightmare than a fairy tale. What will happen when Zoe is forced to choose between serving The Queen and saving the prince of her dreams?

Source:  egalley via HarperTeen/Edelweiss

Bonus:  2013 YA Contemporary Challenge

Story Breakdown:

Zoe and her cousin/BFF Jesse are spending the summer before their senior year working as interns at Fairyland.  After getting her assignment as the Queen’s lady in waiting (aka personal assistant) Zoe bumbles her way through crisis and crisis all the while trying to compete for top prize, a $25,000 grant to the best employee AND nab a Fairyland spy.

Character Highlights –

Zoe:  Definitely this is who I would be if I was working at Fairyland.  The girl who is busting her butt to get things done all the while all the employees see is someone doing all the dirty work for the boss.  I think being that the book focused so much on just the work environment I had a little trouble connecting with her but still relatable.

Jesse:  Zoe’s cousin and BFF.  I’m sad that we didn’t get to see much of her since the entire book is told from Zoe’s POV and is about her work experience.  I do like (as always) that when their friendship was called to test she trusted Zoe 100%.  That makes for a great fictional friendship and doesn’t take away from the story.

Ian:  Same as Jesse.  Not enough Ian!!!  I wish a bit more of the book could have had Zoe interacting with one or both.  I would have liked to known more about him and his Texas drawl. 🙂

Overall Thoughts:

This book was absolutely adorable.  I’m really starting to enjoy reading more contemporaries and I will be adding all of Ms Strohmeyer’s books to my TBR list.  I was actually caught off guard by several things that happened in the book which doesn’t happen that often anymore.  The only downside to the story for me (I mentioned it above) is the lack of interaction between characters.  Sometimes the supporting crew are the most entertaining and I think that might have added a bit for me.  I think this is a great read for anyone looking for a quick and fun read.

4/5

8 thoughts on “How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer

  1. C March 27, 2013 at 8:20 am Reply

    I just finished this one this morning. Adorable is definitely the right word 🙂

    • Gone Pecan March 27, 2013 at 9:30 pm Reply

      YAY! Glad someone else loved it too! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Lucy March 27, 2013 at 10:13 am Reply

    This just sounds so cute! Love a book with great supporting characters. And the creative workplace setting is a bonus. Glad you liked this one 🙂

    • Gone Pecan March 27, 2013 at 9:30 pm Reply

      I was very surprised. Super cute!

  3. Quinn March 27, 2013 at 11:19 am Reply

    Thanks for the review. I definitely want to read this one. It looks adorable, and I love adorable contemporaries – especially in the Spring and Summer. I know exactly what you mean, though, about how sometimes secondary characters can steal the show. Like Roux from Also Known As.

    • Gone Pecan March 27, 2013 at 9:29 pm Reply

      I haven’t read that one yet!! Soon. 🙂

  4. Alice in Readerland March 28, 2013 at 12:57 am Reply

    I’m so excited to read this one, it looks so cute and fun! 🙂 Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  5. bookgoonie March 28, 2013 at 6:23 am Reply

    It is hard for a Contenporary to Surprise. Awesome that this one does. We all could use a little more adorable in our lives.

Leave a Reply

