The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

ac

Ananna of the Tanarau abandons ship when her parents try to marry her off to an allying pirate clan: she wants to captain her own boat, not serve as second-in-command to her handsome yet clueless fiance. But her escape has dire consequences when she learns the scorned clan has sent an assassin after her.

And when the assassin, Naji, finally catches up with her, things get even worse. Ananna inadvertently triggers a nasty curse — with a life-altering result. Now Ananna and Naji are forced to become uneasy allies as they work together to break the curse and return their lives back to normal. Or at least as normal as the lives of a pirate and an assassin can be.

Source:  egalley via Strange Chemistry/NetGalley

Story Breakdown:

After running away from an arranged marriage Ananna finds herself being hunted by an assassin sent by her would be father-in-law.  Desperate to escape she accepts help from someone who puts her in danger but things don’t go as planned with the assassin and after saving his life she now has a personal bodyguard who will fight to protect her to the death.

Character Highlights:

Ananna –  I liked her confidence for the most part but she was too vocal in her complaints at times which I found to be a bit annoying.  I love that she is a pirate and is extremely independent and willing to live on the run if that means her freedom.

Naji –  Though we are with both Naji and Ananna for almost the entire book I don’t feel like I know him well enough yet.  With his short and cryptic answers we don’t find out as much about him as I would have liked but towards the end he started to open up a bit more and I hope that we see him open up further in the next installment.  It’s interesting to see a guy that isn’t secure in himself and be full of so much self-doubt when normally its the female who is insecure.

Overall Thoughts:

For a fantasy novel it’s a bit short, but I see this as both a good and a bad thing.  Good because you aren’t bogged down like so many massive books coming out today but bad because I wanted to read so much more of the story!  I think it was a great mix of fantasy and action aventure and I’m eagerly awaiting The Pirate’s Wish!

3.75/5

2 thoughts on “The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

  1. Candice April 2, 2013 at 9:18 am Reply

    I’ve had an ARC of this for like over a year… it sounded really good when I entered to win it, but didn’t get to it. Really should… I mean, pirates? Yes please!

    • Gone Pecan April 2, 2013 at 10:07 am Reply

      I really liked it! Requested book 2 today!! (Hope they approve me.)

Leave a Reply

