Dead Silence by Kimberly Derting- Review and Blog Tour

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

deadsilence

Hello and welcome to my stop on the Dead Silence blog tour hosted by Candace!  I cannot tell you guys how excited I am to be a part of this tour.  I’ve been a fan of the series since the start (thanks to my blogging buddy Daphne) and was eagerly awaiting the newest addition to the series.

Today I’m lucky to not only review Dead Silence but to feature an interview with the lovely Kimberly Derting!

Dead Silence Review:

ds

Violet thought she’d made peace with her unique ability to sense the echoes of the dead and the imprints that cling to their killers…that is until she acquired an imprint of her own. Forced to carry a reminder of the horrible events of her kidnapping, Violet is more determined than ever to lead a normal life. However, the people who run the special investigative team Violet works for have no intention of letting her go.

When someone close to Violet becomes a suspect in a horrific murder, she finds herself pulled into a deadly hunt for a madman with an army of devoted followers. Violet has survived dangerous situations before, but she quickly discovers that protecting those closest to her is far more difficult than protecting herself.

Source:  ARC via HarperCollins

Story Breakdown:

It has been a few months since Violet was kidnapped and she is struggling to move on and live a “normal” life with her imprint from when she was forced to kill to protect herself and figure out how to work with her team again.  After finding a family murdered inside their home she comes across a body without an echo.  Curious how that is possible she dives into her grandmother’s old journals seeking guidance and tries to piece together with her team who killed the family.

Character Highlights:

Violet –  Violet has been one of my favorite MCs for a while now.  She’s a great friend and though she tends to think she can do more on her own then she should she’s pretty great.  Plus she landed Jay so obvs there is something pretty great about her right?  I just wish she would let go of the weird Rafe feelings.

Jay – I don’t think there is anything more to say about him.  He is Jay, one of the top fictional boyfriends.  In fact, Violet agrees.

Chelsea –  We see more of her in this book IMO then the rest of the series to date.  My favorite thing about her?  Her outspokenness and daring attitude.  My least favorite thing about her?  Her outspokenness and daring attitude.  She’s that friend you want to help you come out of your shell but at the same time wish she would just back off and give you time to do things on your own.

Rafe –I wasn’t his fan when we first met him but he isn’t so bad now that I’ve gotten to know him better.  His intentions aren’t 100% clear to me yet so I hope there will be more to the story later on.

Overall Thoughts:

Right now this is the last planned book in the Body Finder series and if it’s the end I’m both happy and a little sad.  I think where the book ends I’m happy with what has happened but sad because there are still so many unanswered questions!  As always it was an enjoyable and quick read and I look forward to reading more from Ms Derting in the future.  This is a definite read for anyone a fan of the Body Finder Series.

4/5

Now on to my interview!!  Everyone please welcome Ms Derting!

How does it feel writing a series that is not only darker than most but goes against the dystopian trend and has a strong female MC while still being quite popular?

 I try not to think about trends while I’m writing, but I love that readers are enjoying the darker side of the Body Finder series! I just wanted to write something that I’m afraid of, and what scares me most are the things that can really happen…like serial killers. I can read about paranormal creatures, or even fictional serial killers, all day long, but as soon as I start doing research on real-life murderers, that’s when I start looking over my shoulder and double-checking the locks on my doors. I hope I can give readers just a taste of that creeped-out, edge-of-your-seat feeling with my books.

 I’m a huge fan of the alternating POVs in books and I absolutely love the POV of the killer. Do you find it difficult to get into a killer’s mind so to speak? Is there a process to go to that dark place?

 When I was writing The Body Finder, I worried that the scenes from the serial killer’s POV would be too disturbing for YA, so there were far fewer of them in the first draft.  When I got the note from my editor saying, “we want more of these!” I was thrilled.  I loved writing those scenes, and they were entirely too easy for me to write. (And, yes, I realize that makes me sound all kinds of sick and twisted!)

 Let’s talk about Jay. He’s one of our top picks for fictional bfs to discuss. What do you think it is about him that just makes everyone swoon?

 It’s funny because I think I’m as guilty of this as everyone else! Jay was actually never meant to play such a HUGE role in the Body Finder books, he was just the best friend Violet was going to start having feelings for. But the more I wrote him, the more I liked him, so his role kept expanding.  Fortunately for Violet, my crush on him, and my love for kissing scenes, made him a major character!

 I think the reason he’s so crush-worthy is because he supports Violet and keeps her grounded, without being overbearing or controlling. Also, he’s adorable. I wish I would have had a Jay when I was in high school!

 I love that Violet’s family knows what she can do and supports her so that it doesn’t take away from the story of victims and killers. Was is a given for you when starting the series to write a huge support net for this reason?

That was always the plan. I didn’t want to write it from the perspective of what would be easiest for Violet—that’s such a copout. I looked at it from the perspective of what kind of parent I would want to be if my daughter had an ability like hers. I hope I would be sympathetic to her unique situation, allow her to mature and grow like a normal teen, all while trying to keep her out of danger as much as possible.

 Do you have a preference when writing for the Body Finder or the Pledge series?

It seems like there would be, but honestly, I love them both. That’s like asking me to choose which of my kids I like best! My favorite book is usually the one I’m working on at the moment. On the flip side, it’s usually the one I hate the most, too.

How far do you plan to take Violet? Are we in for the long haul or do you have a set plan on when to end the series?

 DEAD SILENCE is the last book planned at the moment, but I am a never-say-never kind of gal…especially since I love these characters so much!

Is there a specific fan experience you remember that just makes you smile every time you think about it?

 There was a reader who had a Body Finder themed birthday, complete with cake (http://www.theundercoverbooklover.com/2010/03/body-finder-birthday-cake.html). That was simply amazing!!

As I mentioned before, The Body Finder series shows a strong female MC. Is there another series or stand alone book that you would recommend for girls/young women that you thinks shows women in a positive light?

 I really love DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth and, of course, THE HUNGER GAMES, both of which have strong girls who are willing to make great sacrifices for themselves and for others. I also adored (and cried during) Eliot Schrefer’s ENDANGERED for the same reasons, and it depicts those same kinds of sacrifices on a real-world scale.

kimberly-1_press

Kimberly Derting Bio:
Kimberly Derting is the author of the BODY FINDER series (HarperCollins) and THE PLEDGE trilogy (Simon & Schuster). She lives in the Seattle area, with her husband and three children, who often find the outrageous things they say either in the pages of her books or posted on Twitter or Facebook for the entire world to see.
You can visit her website at www.kimberlyderting.com
Thanks to Ms Derting for taking the time to answer my questions!
GIVEAWAY
Want to win swag or a copy of the book?
Want to read more about Dead Silence?  Check out all the other stops on the tour!!  Just click below and you will be directed to the entire tour list.
The tour is hosted by:
cbb(1)
11 thoughts on “Dead Silence by Kimberly Derting- Review and Blog Tour

  1. candacesbookblog April 3, 2013 at 10:28 am Reply

    Thanks so much for hosting a stop on this tour! I really hope she decides to write a spin off series with Rafe as the MC. REALLY hope! Let’s see if we can convince her. 😉
    Great interview questions too!

  2. Kathy L. April 3, 2013 at 12:38 pm Reply

    I love that cake! I have to do that for my birthday. I wonder if she watches Criminal Minds for research. Great Interview.

  3. Tammy April 3, 2013 at 6:24 pm Reply

    I need to catch up, I’ve only read the first book in this series.

  4. Diana Grace April 4, 2013 at 2:54 am Reply

    Thanks for the interview! 🙂
    Can’t wait to read Dead Silence..

    – diana

  5. bookgoonie April 4, 2013 at 5:40 am Reply

    I’m so super excited about this one & sad too. I fell in love with this series & Jay & Violet when I started blogging. If Kimberly lived in the area, I’d probably be a stalker. Besides that the series is fabulous on its own, I love how unique it is. And I love that it scares the shite out of me. Great interview. I’m so glad that KD fell in love with Jay too.

  6. Cali W. April 5, 2013 at 3:41 pm Reply

    Awesome interview and giveaway!! Can’t wait for the book! ❤

  7. Vivien April 5, 2013 at 4:41 pm Reply

    Excellent interview!! I really like this series and have been a fan since the beginning 🙂

  8. Jaime Lester April 11, 2013 at 3:32 am Reply

    Wonderful interview! I love it. And 4 outta 5 ain’t bad. I think I will love this final book just as much as the first 3!

  9. Ava April 12, 2013 at 4:33 pm Reply

    This is so awesome! Thanks! 😀

    <3,
    – Ava

  10. Angelica @ Paperback Princess April 18, 2013 at 8:12 pm Reply

    Great review and I really enjoyed reading Derting’s Interview. I was also part of the tour and also reviewed and Interviewed Kimberly, I was very privileged to have been part of this tour as I commenced this series prior to being a blogger 😀

Leave a Reply

