Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black

dshDancing with someone is an act of trust. Elegant and intimate; you’re close enough to kiss, close enough to feel your partner’s heartbeat. But for Vanessa, dance is deadly – and she must be very careful who she trusts . . .

Vanessa Adler attends an elite ballet school – the same one her older sister, Margaret, attended before she disappeared. Vanessa feels she can never live up to her sister’s shining reputation. But Vanessa, with her glorious red hair and fair skin, has a kind of power when she dances – she loses herself in the music, breathes different air, and the world around her turns to flames . . .

Soon she attracts the attention of three men: gorgeous Zep, mysterious Justin, and the great, enigmatic choreographer Josef Zhalkovsky. When Josef asks Vanessa to dance the lead in the Firebird, she has little idea of the danger that lies ahead – and the burning forces about to be unleashed . . .

Source:  egalley via Bloomsbury/Netgalley

Bonus:  2013 Debut Author Challenge

Story Breakdown:

It’s been a few years since Vanessa’s sister Margaret went missing from NYC and her ballet academy.  Left with no clues as to what happened to her sister, Vanessa has decided to attend the same ballet academy despite her parents wishes hoping to find answers about her sister’s disappearance.

Character Highlights:

Vanessa – I don’t know if it was my lack of knowledge about ballet or the way she was presented to me but I couldn’t connect to her at all.  I found her extremely too dramatic for my tastes.  Whether she was happy or sad she took it to extreme.

Zep – I’m still trying to figure out what about him was so intoxicating that Vanessa had insta-love for him.  Also “listening” to him I found he didn’t come off as a young adult but an actual grown-up which made him completely inappropriate for Vanessa to me.

Justin – We see even less of him then we do of Zep but regardless I was in his corner to start.  Vanessa really ticked me off when she spoke to Justin because IMO she hates Justin for the same reason she loves Zep.  What’s that?  Nothing.

Overall Thoughts:

Based on the cover and description online I had it in my mind that this book would be something similar to the movie Black Swan which I’m not going to lie to you. . .I didn’t fully get that movie.  While some parts were dark and disturbing others were light and airy like a ya contemporary book should be but I found the pacing was a bit off.  It’s started more on the dark contemp side but about halfway morphed into some weird paranormal version of the same book and I was a bit lost at that point.

While I’m liking some of these darker YA books I found this one wasn’t really suited for me.  Will I continue with the series?  Yes.  Do I think I’m going to like where it’s going?  Jury is still out.

3/5

6 thoughts on “Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black

  1. Merin April 15, 2013 at 11:45 pm Reply

    I actually really liked this one, but was well aware of its flaws while I was reading. I just really loved the ballet stuff! 🙂

    • Gone Pecan April 16, 2013 at 7:14 am Reply

      I’m glad!! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. bookgoonie April 16, 2013 at 5:35 am Reply

    Most of the books related to dance-ballet seem to be less relatable and off in some way.

    • Gone Pecan April 16, 2013 at 7:15 am Reply

      Yeah. I think if this would have been a show I would have enjoyed it more since I don’t know all the dancing terminology.

  3. Alexa Loves Books (@alexalovesbooks) April 25, 2013 at 11:39 am Reply

    I really, honestly liked this book. Even though I found it fairly predictable, and did not like Zep at all, there’s still something about it that I found appealing. I think there’s definitely some potential to this series, and look forward to reading the next book and finding out what happens next.

    • Gone Pecan April 25, 2013 at 2:56 pm Reply

      I think what out me off was the dancing part mainly. I will def still check out the next book. Thanks for stopping by ma’am!

Leave a Reply

