Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks

Friends with Boys

Maggie McKay hardly knows what to do with herself. After an idyllic childhood of homeschooling with her mother and rough-housing with her older brothers, it’s time for Maggie to face the outside world, all on her own. But that means facing high school first. And it also means solving the mystery of the melancholy ghost who has silently followed Maggie throughout her entire life. Maybe it even means making a new friend—one who isn’t one of her brothers.

Source:  purchased

Characters: 

Maggie McKay is the youngest child and only daughter of the recently elected Chief of Police.  She has three older brothers and a mother who’s run off.  We meet her on the her first day of high school.  Maggie and her brothers had all been home schooled until high school and Maggie is a little anxious about the whole process.  She doesn’t know anyone other than her brothers, who aren’t exactly chomping at the bit to help their sister acclimate to her new situation.

Conflict:

High school isn’t the only thing going on right now.  Maggie’s twin brothers, Lloyd and Zander, are fighting and oldest brother, Daniel, seems to be very popular at school.  When Maggie is befriended by a  brother and sister, Alistair and Lucy (who are creative in their style of dress and appear to be the “freaks” of school), Maggie finally starts to feel less lonely.  Daniel, however, doesn’t seem to like Alistair and Maggie is kind of caught in the middle.  Also, there’s a ghost who seems to be haunting Maggie.

Overall Thoughts:

Though this is not my first foray into the world of graphic novels, I am still a novice.  I read this in about 45 minutes because it was it entertaining, cute, funny, and I loved Maggie and her family. I also really loved Lucy, who was like an eager little puppy wanting to be friends with Maggie.  My only issue is that I wish it was longer or there was a sequel or two.  There are a lot of directions it could go and some plot points that could be filled in.  I would like to learn more about the ghost and Maggie’s mother and why she left. I would also like to expand on Maggie’s seemingly one-sided crush with Alistair.  I definitely will be keeping an eye on this author/illustrator and pick up anything she’s involved in.  This book also has a website that includes the first 20 pages of the book, which you can access here.

Pecans:  4.5/5

5 thoughts on “Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks

  1. Candice April 22, 2013 at 9:33 am Reply

    I’ve never actually read any graphic novels – they don’t really seem to be my cup of tea.The plot of this one sounds really good though! If I ever decide to read a graphic novel, I’ll definitely think about this one!

    • Daphne April 22, 2013 at 9:51 am Reply

      you should check out the website to see if you like the format or story.

  2. bookgoonie April 23, 2013 at 5:51 am Reply

    I’ve only done graphic novels on heavy content, like Maus. I was real hesitant with the trend, but I embrace it now mainly because of the art. Though I tend to not read them.

  3. Alexa Loves Books (@alexalovesbooks) April 25, 2013 at 11:40 am Reply

    This sounds super cute! I tend to read graphic novels really quickly, so this is probably going to be a short read if I try it. I do like the sound of the story!

  4. Top 10 Tuesday #76 | Gone Pecan June 25, 2013 at 8:09 am Reply

    […] and kinda made me mad, but I’m on board because I want to know what happens next. 10.  Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks – A graphic novel that was very charming and entertaining. I read it in […]

Leave a Reply

