Bout of Books 7.0

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 13th and runs through Sunday, May 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 7.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

So, Kristina and I have participated in the past and found it fun and a great way to get a bunch of books read, and possibly get some reviews posted. So, without further ado, here are our goals:

Kristina:

My goal for this bout is mainly reading. I MIGHT write a review on one of these during the bout week but I will probably just try to knock out the reading part and write them up the following week! Since I have a serious issue with buying books that I’m super excited for but holding onto them forever I’m trying to read several of those and two e-galleys. I already have a personal challenge on trying to clean up e-galleys so I want to focus more on the physical books this round. I realize there is a good chance I won’t read all of these but I’m sure going to try!
Books:
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
  • Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
  • Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
e-book/Netgalley/Edelweiss:
  • When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney
  • Born of Illusion by Teri Brown

Daphne:

Um, I have SO MANY books waiting to be read/reviewed, I don’t even know where to start. And I never know what I’ll be in the mood for, so my list will be which potential books I’ll read. I am going to TRY to read 3 books and listen to one audio. And even then, I think I’m pushing it. I just haven’t been in much of a reading mood lately.

ebook/Netgalley/Edelweiss:

  • Game by Barry Lyga
  • Dirty Little Secret by Jennifer Echols
  • Bare it All by Lori Foster
  • It Had to Be You by Jill Shalvis (Lucky Harbor #7)
  • Just One Kiss by Susan Mallery (Fool’s Gold #11)
  • True by Erin McCarthy
  • Ten Tiny Breaths by K. A. Tucker
  • What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan
  • Strong Enough to Love by Victoria Dahl
  • Too Hot to Handle by Victoria Dahl
  • When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney
  • Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham
  • The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
  • Can’t Help Falling in Love by Bella Andre (The Sullivan’s #3)
  • Spies and Prejudice by Talia Vance

Library books:

  • A Midsummer’s Nightmare by Kody Keplinger
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
  • A Shot of Sultry by Macy Beckett
  • Close Enough to Touch by Victoria Dahl
  • At Your Pleasure by Meredith Duran

Audio books:

  • Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella
  • Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

Other books:

  • Revenge of the Girl With the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg
  • Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  • Geek Girl by Holly Smale
  • You Are Here by Jennifer E. Smith

So those are the books. I intend to read 3 and but only fully review the ones I need to for Netgalley/Edelweiss. I will do a short review for the ones I don’t need to just to have some sense of closure and accomplishment. 🙂

~*~

So, that’s it. If you want to join us, please go to the link above to sign up at the Bout of Books website.

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “Bout of Books 7.0

  1. Quinn May 5, 2013 at 4:28 pm Reply

    I’m really excited to participate in Bout of Books. I never have before, so I have been trying to plan for it the last week. I haven’t posted my entry post yet, because I’m still debating what my goals should be. I’ve got a few more things going on that week than normal, not to mention that SYTYCD will start on May14th.

    I’m like you, Daphne. I’m a huge mood reader, so I won’t be listing the exact books I will read, but books I will choose from.

    Also, I just was Bare It All by Lori Foster and was a little disappointed. I haven’t been in love with her books lately. It’s not bad, just not a favorite. And it’s kinda long

    Anyway, good luck you guys!

    • Daphne May 5, 2013 at 6:00 pm Reply

      the Lori Foster books about the sex trade are kinda depressing, but i’ll pull through. i actually already started it, but other things needed to be read first so I put it aside. it’s from netgalley, so i have to read it anyway.

  2. Brittany May 5, 2013 at 7:12 pm Reply

    Good luck!!!!! I really wanted to do Bout of Books but honestly…. So many things are just up in the air right now that I didn’t want to commit and then fail miserably haha. Great goals! I hope you can meet some of them 😀

  3. Candice May 6, 2013 at 9:04 am Reply

    Wait, Daphne, you’ve got a copy of Dirty Little Secret? Oh so jealous! You both have some great goals. Kiki I REALLY think you need to start with Grave Mercy. Mostly so I can gush with you about it! 🙂

  4. bookgoonie May 7, 2013 at 5:43 am Reply

    Daphne!!! That is a list ;D

    • Daphne May 7, 2013 at 6:54 am Reply

      i know, and that’s not even all the the review books i have 🙂 eep!

  5. […] we go. Today’s the first day of Bout of Books and if you want to read our goals post, go here.  Since we started at midnight today, Kristina & I haven’t read much (or at all), but we […]

Leave a Reply

