Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

my

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Source:  egalley via Viking/Netgalley

Story Breakdown:

After losing her job and trying her hand at several random ill-fitted ones, Lou is hired by Will’s mother to be his part-time caregiver.  Will was in a horrible accident several years ago that has left him paralyzed, and unable to do almost anything for himself.  Both unsure of where they are in life and how to move forward they slowing become friends and development an unexpected relationship that slowly alters the course of their planned futures.

Character Highlights:

Lou –  I think though I related to both Louisa and Will, I AM the Louisa in my family.  She bends over backwards to help her family, putting herself out regardless to better everyone else.  She was a breath of fresh air to read about.  I also loved her random outfits, something I still do from time to time, and that she saw past Will’s disability.

Will – Though we get several chapters not in Lou’s POV other than the prologue there are none in Will’s voice.  I think it would have maybe helped me as the reader connect a bit more with him but in the end I don’t think that took away from his story.  You see him through others and it was a different approach that I found appealing.

Overall Thoughts –  This book.  You know how sometimes when you talk to others and the say a book gave them the feels?  That’s what this book did for me.  I got it.  The whole story.  I connected page one and I loved both the good and the bad.  Having been in Lou’s place in helping take care of someone I love (though not a significant other, still a loved one) I know what’s it like to try to care for someone you love and for it to become second nature.  For those we care about we will do anything but for them to lose the ability to handle even the smallest tasks?  I’ve seen that heartache on my loved one and I felt it when reading this book.

I think the few chapters told from several secondary characters POV’s, showing Will and Lou’s growing relationship among other things was a unique way to give multiple perspectives without crowding the book with MCs.  This was a beautifully written book and I would highly recommend it to anyone that has a strong heart.

4.5/5

6 thoughts on “Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. Candice May 10, 2013 at 8:16 am Reply

    So while I know EVERYONE has said this book was good, I just don’t want to read it. Is that bad? I mean, I’m curious, sure… but I dunno. I am very happy that you enjoyed it! 🙂

    • Daphne May 10, 2013 at 9:30 am Reply

      *whispers* i feel the same way

      • Gone Pecan May 10, 2013 at 9:56 am

        LOL, as Candice? You guys it is a good book! I think you should give it a try but def not when you are in a light-hearted read kind of mood.P

  2. Quinn May 10, 2013 at 12:07 pm Reply

    I’m feeling the same way Candice is. It sounds interesting, and I’m soooo glad you loved it, but I’m not sure it’s for me.

  3. bookgoonie May 21, 2013 at 9:23 pm Reply

    This would totally bring the feels for me.

  4. Top 10 Tuesday #76 | Gone Pecan June 25, 2013 at 8:08 am Reply

    […] but it was sooooo good!  I have Scarlet which I plan in reading in the next few weeks.  3.  Me Before You by Jojo Meyes – Sad but I love it.  4.  Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – Gosh.  The […]

Leave a Reply

