Top 10 Tuesday #71

top-103
Hosted by the girls @ The Broke and The Bookish, this weekly meme asks a different question every week.  This week’s query:
Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects (abuse, suicide, grief etc or something
personally hard for you)
 
Kristina: 
 
1.  Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – I JUST read and reviewed this last week.  Dealing with physical limitations, personal growth, and suicide it was a tough one but a great one.
 
2.  Before I Die by Jenny Downham – Another book I reviewed here.  Def not recommended though unless you are prepared to cry.
 
3. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – I loved this book so hard.  It’s just beautiful.
 
4.  Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess – I have all of her other books as TBR now.  Not something you can really read back to back. 
 
5.  My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick – Daph reviewed this one.  Such a great debut.
 
~*~
 
Daphne: I have to start by saying that I’m not much for “issue” books because I prefer happy books, preferably with kissing.  I am especially reticent to read anything about abuse, especially sexual, because I just cannot deal. So…here’s what I could come up with.
 
6.  The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold – such a hard book to read. I had to stop reading because my husband was away for work at the time and it freaked me out, even though it wasn’t particularly graphic. So glad I completed it.
 
7.  The Help by Katherine Stockett – I reviewed this and I just think it was such a superb book about racial relations in the south during an explosive time in America’s history. 
 
8.  To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Growing up as a child in the south where racial tension was obvious in my school and in every day life, this book had a big impact. It’s very important to me and I love it.
 
9. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – I liked the book, which dealt with a boy who has some unnamed personality issues, but it wasn’t until I saw the movie that I really felt the full impact of what an amazing story this is. 
 
10. If I Stay/Where She Went by Gayle Forman – Those these are mostly love stories, a big part of the story is living through and overcoming grief. Such beautifully written books.
8 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #71

  1. Christina May 14, 2013 at 7:49 am Reply

    So glad you included The Lovely Bones! Great list ladies 🙂

  2. Candice May 14, 2013 at 8:39 am Reply

    I agree with you about not really realizing the full impact of Perks of Being a Wallflower until watching the movie. I mean, I got how hard Charlie had it… and it really affected me. But seeing it on screen was like a punch to the gut! Great list, both of you ladies!

  3. Andi (@estellasrevenge) May 14, 2013 at 9:15 am Reply

    Great choices! I just read Me Before You a few months ago for book club. It’s not one I would’ve picked up on my own, but I absolutely loved it.

  4. Becky May 14, 2013 at 10:52 am Reply

    I’m with you, Daphne! I kind of avoid certain issue-y books in particular. I did manage to find a top ten for my TTT.

  5. comehometobooks May 14, 2013 at 12:07 pm Reply

    Interesting lists. I haven’t read any of Kristina’s and only a few of Daphne’s. I do love TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD and THE HELP. And, like Daphne, I tend to avoid really gritty issue novels, especially when they have to do with rape/sexual abuse. Just, no thank you, you know?

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  6. Ula @ Blog of Erised May 14, 2013 at 1:16 pm Reply

    I should really read Eleanor and Park. As for Perks, the book wasn’t as tough for me so I left it out…

    My TTT

    • Daphne May 14, 2013 at 1:38 pm Reply

      well, you don’t really know the real issue until the end, right?

  7. Harlie's Books by Liberty Ann May 14, 2013 at 4:24 pm Reply

    I think you girls made excellent choices! What is difficult for one person is not always difficult for the next and visa versa. So glad I came by!

    Here is our Top Ten for the week. We look forward to seeing you on Harlie’s Books!

Leave a Reply

