Top 10 Tuesday #72

top-103

Hosted by the girls @ The Broke and The Bookish, this weekly meme asks us bookish questions, which we answer in list form. This week’s question is:
Top 10 Covers of Books You’ve Read

Daphne:

Jane Austen Ruined My Life

1. Jane Austen Ruined My Life by Beth Pattillo — though I would have read this book anyway because it’s Austen-esque, this cover is gorgeous and the reason I picked it up to begin with.

The Fixer Upper

2. The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews — this is one of my favorite authors, but I just love this cover so much. The dress, the shoes, the luggage…it takes place in the south, and I can just feel the humidity and taste the sweet tea.

Scot on the Rocks

3.  Scot on the Rocks by Brenda Janowitz — Long before I was a book blogger and I just roamed the library judging books by their covers, I found this book and loved the cover so much, I immediately had to read it. It’s one of my favorite books and I’ve read it multiple times.

Vision in White (Bride Quartet, #1)

4.  Vision in White by Nora Roberts — Though I am a huge romance fan, I never even considered reading Nora Roberts because I just thought her books would be dated and, I don’t know, old somehow. But sometimes, you come across something that just calls to you and I picked up this book because of the cover, because sometimes you just want a book that you know will have a happy ending, like this one obviously does. It was my first Nora Roberts book and I have to admit, I’ve been converted.

Straight from the Hip (Lone Star Sisters, #3)

5. Straight From the Hip by Susan Mallery — This book is actually the third in the series, but I had kept seeing it everywhere and I just loved the cover so much. I actually don’t know what it was about the cover that made me want to read it, but I had to. First, though, I had to read the other two in the series. This is the beginning of my love for Susan Mallery.

~*~

Kristina:

I chose books that I’ve read this year only to try and change it up.

 Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)

6.  Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

 Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School, #1)

7.  Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

The Archived (The Archived, #1)

8.  The Archived by Victoria Schwab

 cind

9.  Cinder by Marissa Meyer

 dsh

10.  Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black

20 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #72

  1. bookrockbetty May 21, 2013 at 8:13 am Reply

    Love that Dance of Shadows cover!! The dress is amaaaazing!
    Also really like:
    Scot on the Rocks
    & Etiquette & Espionage
    oh and of course Shadow and Bone!!!

  2. C May 21, 2013 at 8:15 am Reply

    I love Shadow and Bone too! Gonna have to check out this Scot on the Rock book….

  3. Natalie (@NatflixandBooks) May 21, 2013 at 9:45 am Reply

    I love the cover for The Fixer Upper, too. I want that dress and that hatbox! I love the covers for Etiquette and Espionage and Dance of Shadows–very cool. Great list!
    Natflix&Books’ TTT

  4. Candice May 21, 2013 at 10:26 am Reply

    Love all the romance novel covers! I will say, I’m a HUGE Nora Roberts fan! You can’t go wrong with her! I’m gonna have to check out The Fixer Upper too! Dance of Shadows is such a pretty cover… I love the flying red things!

  5. Lindsi May 21, 2013 at 10:48 am Reply

    The Archived and Dance of Shadows both have beautiful covers. I really need to read both of those soon!

  6. Alice in Readerland May 21, 2013 at 11:13 am Reply

    The Jane Austen Ruined My Life cover is so beautiful, & I think the Cinder cover is cool with the pretty typography & red slipper! 🙂

  7. Ula @ Blog of Erised May 21, 2013 at 1:09 pm Reply

    The Archived looks soooo good, I have to read the book soon!

    My TTT

  8. Katja Weinert @ YA's the Word May 21, 2013 at 4:17 pm Reply

    Shadow and Bone and Etiquette and Espionage are fab. Love them.

    • Gone Pecan May 21, 2013 at 7:34 pm Reply

      I know! I really am a cover junkie. The bar has been raised the past couple of years IMO.

  9. Janita @ Book, Interrupted May 21, 2013 at 7:31 pm Reply

    I totally forgot to put Shadow and Bone on my list! I definitely would have snuck that one in somewhere haha. It was so difficult to narrow my list down to 10 this week!

    • Gone Pecan May 21, 2013 at 7:34 pm Reply

      Same. That’s why I tried to stick w books I’ve read in the last year.

  10. Sara Walker (@JstAnotherStory) May 21, 2013 at 7:51 pm Reply

    I really love the cover of Jane Austen Ruined My Life. I seem to like covers with people on them.

  11. Deidra @ Simply Books. May 21, 2013 at 8:51 pm Reply

    I just got Etiquette and Esponiage from the library. I’m super excited about it! And I totally forgot the Archived! Amazing book and cover!
    Thanks for stopping by!

  12. bookgoonie May 21, 2013 at 9:06 pm Reply

    Love them 😉

  13. Courtney @ Courtney Reads A Lot May 21, 2013 at 9:46 pm Reply

    I completely agree with Shadow and Bone, The Archived, and Etiquette & Espionage! And I’ve never heard of this Jane Austen Ruined My Life book, actually. I’ll have to check that out. 😛 Great picks!

  14. annabelsmith May 22, 2013 at 1:39 am Reply

    Jane Austen ruined my life has a great cover. Funny title too. I recently heard Margaret Atwood say ‘Jane Austen teaches us the unhelpful and untruthful lesson that men who are rude and act disinterested secretly love us and may also turn our to be rich’ – i guess that sort of interpretation could easily ruin a person’s life!

    • Daphne May 22, 2013 at 7:11 am Reply

      that is hilarious and completely true. it’s like the little boy on the playground who pulls your hair. does he like me? no, he’s just an ass.

  15. Quinn May 22, 2013 at 12:10 pm Reply

    LOL. I need to read Jane Austen Ruined My Life. That looks like so much fun.

    I love the cover for Dance of Shadows, but I haven’t read the book yet. I’ve heard pretty mixed things, but I’m still going to give it a try.

    And Cinder totally has the best cover ever!

  16. Wholly Books! May 22, 2013 at 10:14 pm Reply

    Oh, Jane Austen Ruined My Life is beatufiul! Looks and sounds like an interesting book! I definitely need to read it! Also, I love the cover for The Archived!

Leave a Reply

