Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

sbThe Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfill her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Source:  purchased via Amazon

DISCLAIMER:  It’s been awhile since my first read and since this is a reread I may be more spoilery than I intend to.  If you haven’t read this series (YOU ARE MISSING OUT!!) then tread lightly just in case.  Though I would never intentionally give away something huge there might be a few smaller details that one might consider a spoiler (IMO not so much) and I don’t want to ruin a book for anyone. 🙂

Story Breakdown:

Alina, orphaned at a young age, in now grown and traveling with her regiment-including her best friend since childhood, Mal.  After being attacked she saves Mal with powers that unknowingly were dormant to her before then.  She is immediately taken under the protection of the Darkling, leader of the Grisha, where it is discovered that she has a very rare ability.  He believes that if he can help her develop her powers she is the answer to defeating the Fold.

Character Highlights:

Alina –  I really liked her!  Her unrequited love for her best friend Mal was a bit upsetting because, well he wasn’t falling over himself for her!!  I know it’s a double standard but I much prefer when it is the guy in love with the girl and her not knowing.  Her coming into her power and not knowing who to trust kept me turning the pages.  I loved every second!

Mal – The best friend turned possibly something more?  Usually one of my favorite relationships in YA but the Darkling is in this book.  ACK.  What is a girl to do?  Don’t get me wrong, Mal seems like a great guy but he is NOT the Darkling.  I loved his relationship not only with Alina (once we get past a few things of course) and his friends.

The Darkling – As a rule I don’t root for what you could call the “bad guys” (*cough* LOKI *cough*)but The Darkling?   WOWZA.  Just writing this makes me want to fan myself.  I just don’t know what it is, but something about him draws you in.  I NEED MORE.

Overall Thoughts:  I read this one back in October but due to time constraints at the time I couldn’t write a review right then.  I did do a casting call that you can find here which I’m in love with still.  Do you know how you can tell how much I loved this book?  It is the ONLY book I’ve reread in at least two years.  The setting, the characters, I don’t know what I fell in love with first but every single thing about this book is beautiful.  It was so easy to connect to the world and visualize all of the clothing and settings.  I cannot wait to dig into Siege and Storm and find out where the story goes from here.  If you haven’t read this one yet I suggest you get to it.  Also, if you haven’t read it yet pick up the paperback.  My blogging buddies Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide & Tee @ YA Crush are in it! (They also have some pretty awesome reviews for this one as well.)

LAGNIAPPE:  Candice over @ The Grown-Up YA told me about this site awhile back that has book inspired jewelry and Morozova’s Collar may or may not be in a very short wish list.  EEP.

5/5

7 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Candice @ The Grown-Up YA May 31, 2013 at 8:49 am Reply

    Yay!!! I really really really need to reread this book! I’ve got Siege and Storm pre-ordered, so maybe I need to have a readathon when it gets here!

  2. bookgoonie June 3, 2013 at 6:04 am Reply

    Sooo goood. Can’t wait for the next installment. Heard we get another male contender. Excitement Ahead.

  3. Quinn June 3, 2013 at 10:37 am Reply

    I keep hearing how amazing Shadow and Bone is. I picked up the book a few months ago, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I really need to get on that 🙂

  4. […] – I know in Shadow and Bone Mal was second to my Darkling but in Siege and Storm?  I felt so much for him.  I hope pick up […]

  5. […] BOOKS IN THE SERIES:  Shadow & Bone, Siege & […]

  6. The NKOTB Book Tag | Gone Pecan March 20, 2015 at 2:38 pm Reply

    […] Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo – I know this one is in the works but man oh man.  BRING ME ALL THE DARKLING FEELS!!!!! […]

  7. […] Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo […]

Leave a Reply

