Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

siegeDarkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land, all while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. But she can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

SOURCE:  ARC via Macmillan/Henry Holt ( THANK YOU X 1,000!!!!!!!)

Story Breakdown:

Siege and Storm picks up with Alina and Mal on the run.  Thinking they almost completely free they are drawn back into the Darkling’s world and as Alina learns more of his plans she realizes that even though she wants to get as far away as possible she must defend her country and people if she is ever going to be truly free.

Character Highlights:

Alina – For the most part I still love her.  There were times as she grew more into her powers that I might have wanted to slap her but I feel as though she redeemed herself to me.

The Darkling – Oh my love.  Where were you?  Obviously he wasn’t enough in the book for me but when he was?  GREATNESS.

Mal – I know in Shadow and Bone Mal was second to my Darkling but in Siege and Storm?  I felt so much for him.  I hope pick up for him because he broke my heart most of the book.

Sturmhold – WOW.  I hate love triangles but it worked in S & B.  In this one?  We are up to a love square and I’m still loving every second of it.  I absolutely LOVED Sturmhold and his cockiness.

Overall Thoughts:

Guys.  When this book showed up?  Jumping, screeching, immediate texting and emailing might have occurred.  I cannot recommend Shadow and Bone enough so Siege had BIG boots to fill.  It delivered.   This book was by no means a filler piece and was action packed.  The plot twists, the new characters, LOVE LOVE LOVE.  If you’ve read book one you will absolutely adore S & S.  PLEASE GO BY THESE NOW.

5/5 – I am eagerly awaiting (and dreading, I DON’T WANT IT TO END) the final book in this trilogy.

11 thoughts on “Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Katja Weinert @ YA's the Word June 7, 2013 at 11:52 am Reply

    Gosh, what about that ending! So looking forward to the finale too, but don’t want it to end either, ha!

    • Gone Pecan June 7, 2013 at 11:54 am Reply

      I LOVED EVERY PAGE. I cannot believe we have to wait a year. 😦 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Brittany June 7, 2013 at 1:27 pm Reply

    So glad you loved it!

    • Gone Pecan June 7, 2013 at 2:21 pm Reply

      Something tells me Ms Bardugo is going to the auto read list.

  3. Candice @ The Grown-Up YA June 7, 2013 at 2:19 pm Reply

    I’m about 1/2 way through this one and omg… It’s SO good! I’ll admit though that I don’t like the Darkling in this one like I did in Shadow and Bone. And Mal… well he’s just kind of okay to me. Sturmhond though? Wow, so loving him! Can’t wait to see how this one ends!

    • Gone Pecan June 7, 2013 at 2:21 pm Reply

      Oh I still love him for the time being. . . Mal grew on me in this one but AGREED on Sturmhond!! 🙂 Text me when you finish and we can chat!

  4. bookgoonie June 11, 2013 at 6:13 am Reply

    I need to pick it up, like yesterday.

    • Kristina June 11, 2013 at 7:02 am Reply

      It’s soooooo worth it!

  5. Top 10 Tuesday #76 | Gone Pecan June 25, 2013 at 8:08 am Reply

    […] Kristina: Ahhh finally a list I hopefully won’t be repeating myself too much on.   1.  Siege & Storm by Leigh Bardugo – Really?  Further explanation is NOT needed.  2.  Cinder by Marissa Meyer […]

  6. […] OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES:  Shadow & Bone, Siege & Storm […]

  7. […] Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo                                                Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell […]

Leave a Reply

