Top 10 Tuesday #74

top-103Hosted by The Broke & The Bookish, this week’s top 10 are Beachy Reads. Since Kristina & Daphne don’t really like the beach (don’t ask, it involves self-esteem and the ability to relax), so we decided to change it to Top 10 Vacation Reads…

Daphne’s Top 10 Spa Books (books to be read while I relax in a mud bath or when I’m getting a pedicure)…

1. Where We Belong by Emily Giffin — It’s about a woman who gave up her daughter for adoption is found by the daughter and all the ensuing drama that that would entail, including finding the girl’s father, who never knew about the pregnancy. SO FREAKING GOOD.

2. Just One of the Guys by Kristan Higgins — This book has to be on every list I make, apparently.  It’s so funny and has such a great romance, it’s a definite favorite of mine.

3.  What I Did For Love by Susan Elizabeth Phillips — Really, anything by her because she writes incredible love stories and they’re funny, which just makes them that much better.

4.  Any Stephanie Plum book by Janet Evanovich — I don’t really want some heavy, thought provoking book on my vacation, I want to laugh and maybe picture Ranger naked…but maybe that’s just me.

5.  Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes — Given to me by Candice for Christmas, I read this huge book in record time. It’s Brit Chick Lit at it’s finest. You’ll laugh and you’ll definitely pull for the love interest. It’s a definite vacation book.

~*~

Kristina: Since I hate the beach I’m going with “5 books I’d read on vacation”.  I say on vacation because I have a hard time concentrating on reading with too much background noise.  These are books I really want to read but are so huge or detail oriented that I know I need plently so quiet time to read them.
1.  Grace Mercy by Robin LaFevers – I was supposed to read this one during my last bout of books but I failed.  I’m extremely hopeful to read it this month since I promised to let a friend borrow it after hoping to motivate me.
2.  Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – All of my friends raved about this one but I just couldn’t get into it.  Alyssa sent me her extra copy to try again so I’m hoping to have some quality quiet time with this one and finally see what everyone else does in it.
3.  The Fury by Alexander Gordon Smith – This one doesn’t come out till July and looks positively creepy.  I was lucky enough to get an ARC but it is MASSIVE.  I need time to be able to truly get into the story so no interupptions please!
4.  Angel Fire by Lee Weatherly – This book is over 600 pages.  Like The Fury I need the quiet time to get into the story so I’m committed.
5.  Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin – Guys I’m becoming more and more a GoT fan (it is a pretty close 2nd to Potter) but for whatever reason I’m struggling to sit down and read this book!  I guess with everyone starting vacations, etc., there is just too much chaos out and about for me to buckle down.  Since I’m participating in the read along I will have to get a move on ASAP.
9 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #74

  1. C June 11, 2013 at 9:00 am Reply

    Daphne, I knew we were soul mates – Lucy Sullivan is one of my all-time favorites!

    • Daphne June 11, 2013 at 9:22 am Reply

      i loved it and i am definitely putting it on the “to be reread” list

  2. Kristen H. (@bookgoil) June 11, 2013 at 9:19 am Reply

    I’m not sure if I want to read Game of Thrones until the series is over… not sure though, they are enticing. Great lists!

    My Top Ten

  3. Candice @ The Grown-Up YA June 11, 2013 at 9:46 am Reply

    Yay Lucy Sullivan!!!!! This is a GREAT beach/vacation/anytime read! So happy you liked it!

  4. Nicole June 11, 2013 at 9:59 am Reply

    Wow for someone who lives near the beach and goes frequently, I do not read many beachy reads. I haven’t read ANYTHING on your list Daphne! But at least I have read some of Kristina’s vacation reads. I will try to pick some of these up this summer!

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert
    our TTT

    • Daphne June 11, 2013 at 10:26 am Reply

      yeah, I lean more towards adult books, and though I love YA, I am more of a contemp girl.

  5. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know June 11, 2013 at 5:25 pm Reply

    Grave Mercy and Daughter of Smoke and Bone…yes yes! A Song of Ice and Fire is definitely worth pushing through. He has slow parts, but it’s always worth it. A Storm of Swords was a much better read for me than A Clash of Kings. I’m about 200 pages into A Feast for Crows, but considering how long the book is, that’s not saying much!

    TTT
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    • Gone Pecan June 11, 2013 at 8:59 pm Reply

      I WILL READ ALL THE BOOKS. Thanks for stopping by!!

  6. Elizabeth June 12, 2013 at 12:09 am Reply

    I’m not much for chick lit but I LOVE Marian Keyes – she’s so funny! And I am refusing to read Game of Thrones until the series is finished because:
    1. I go batshit crazy when I get to the end of a series and have to wait for a new book
    2. I’m terribly afraid he is going to die before he finishes the series and THEN what would I do?

    Loved your list!

Leave a Reply

