Top 10 Tuesday #77

top-103

Hosted by the girls at The Broke and The Bookish, this week’s question:

Top 10 Books that I find intimidating

Daphne:

  1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – So many people love it, I know, but a lot of people love Wuthering Heights, too (which I hate), so I’m a little hesitant. I am aware that they’re written by different people, but I just don’t know if that style of writing would be something I could get into. But I’ve read Jane Austen, so maybe it wouldn’t be so bad.
  2. Dark Lover by J. R. Ward – I know I promised to start this book in June, but I have too many committments. I really need to stay off Netgalley/Edelwiss. I know I will love this because everyone who’s read it has, but it’s so big and scary (that’s what she said).  I will read it…
  3. Sugar Daddy by Lisa Kleypas – I love this author but for some reason, I just cannot pick up this book.  I really want to read it & it’s on my list for before the end of the year.
  4. Damned by Chuck Palahniuk – I want to read this book because it looks really funny, but Palahniuk is the same guy who wrote Fight Club and Choke, which are so not my type of books.  And now there’s a sequel and you know how a series makes me tingle.
  5. Bossypants by Tina Fey – I know I’m gonna love this, I do, but it’s nonfiction, which is not something that I would normally read.
  6. The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling – I know it’s completely different than Harry Potter, which is probably why I’m so hesitant to read it. I WANT to, and I will, I am just working up the courage.
  7. Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta – I read & loved Finnigan of the Rock and I know why this one and Quintana of Charyn are intimidating. Finnigan was such a beautifully written book, but there is a lot of stuff going on in Lumatere and I’m afraid I won’t remember everything I need to.
  8. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card – This is another case of me reading outside my comfort level, but I’m definitely going to read this before the movie comes out.
  9. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein – Yet another book that’s out of my comfort zone, though this one is  about Nazi Europe & I was a history major, so I should love this.
  10. Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde – I cannot explain to you how much I love Fforde’s Thursday Next series, but his worlds are so complicated and complex, that just the thought of reading his books makes me tired. But in a good way. And I really want to read this because he’s brilliant. But I think this one can definitely wait. There are at least 2 other books in this series and #2 isn’t due out until 2015, so…

That’s all we have for today. What books are you intimidated by?

19 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #77

  1. Oh man. Jane Eyre is my favorite classic!! I love it so. I hope you will be brave and tackle it some day. As for Sugar Daddy, I really enjoyed it. Don’t be scared. I have to read Code Name Verity for book club this month. I’m a huge historical fiction fan so I’m excited to read it. Maybe if we read it together that will help. 🙂

    • Daphne July 2, 2013 at 7:30 am Reply

      that actually might help… 🙂

  2. Alison July 2, 2013 at 7:39 am Reply

    Shades of Grey intimidates me as well. People repeatedly tell me how good it is but I’m still unsure. It sounds interesting but very out there.

    • Gone Pecan July 2, 2013 at 8:26 am Reply

      if it’s anything like Thursday Next, I believe it. but it’ll be fantastic. 🙂

  3. Candice July 2, 2013 at 8:18 am Reply

    Seriously… read Bossypants. I know nonfiction can be a little intimidating, but if you’re a Tina fan, this is seriously like being inside her head or having a convo with her. It’s great! I think I’d be a little intimidated to read Code Name Verity had I not already read it – I’m definitely nervous about reading Rose Under Fire!

    • Daphne July 2, 2013 at 8:28 am Reply

      i think i’m gonna pick up the audio for my trip to Louisiana this weekend

  4. Gone Pecan July 2, 2013 at 8:30 am Reply

    Bossypants or Code Name? I’m readying CNV now! ~K

    • Daphne July 2, 2013 at 9:05 am Reply

      bossypants

  5. Becky July 2, 2013 at 11:06 am Reply

    As much as I adore JANE EYRE, I’ve never made it through WUTHERING HEIGHTS! EYRE is definitely an easier read (and easier to enjoy as well!).

    • Daphne July 2, 2013 at 12:53 pm Reply

      i hope so!

  6. Ciara_H July 2, 2013 at 2:07 pm Reply

    The Casual Vacancy is ok- its well written and the story is well told- but because I’m such a huge HP fan I thought it was a bit dull…

    • Daphne July 2, 2013 at 4:43 pm Reply

      that’s what i’m afraid of

  7. Stormy @ Book.Blog.Bake. July 2, 2013 at 4:17 pm Reply

    Code Name Verity made my TTT too. I feel like everyone loves it SO much & I just might not. Bossypants is awesome though!

    • Daphne July 2, 2013 at 4:43 pm Reply

      i am afraid i might be bored by it 😦

  8. books for a delicate eternity July 2, 2013 at 4:56 pm Reply

    Froi of the Exiles almost made my list (http://wp.me/p3Bl4t-7I), for the same reasons as you. I’m afraid it won’t live up to Finnikin of the Rock!

  9. Amy Peveto (@AmyPeveto) July 2, 2013 at 5:57 pm Reply

    I hated Wuthering Heights and still managed to love Jane Eyre, but I consider it a flawed novel for several reasons. Doesn’t stop me from reading it once a year or so, though. 🙂

    Oh, you should read Bossypants soon! It’s so funny, and it’s a nice light read with some great, quotable snippets.

    Here’s my TTT for the week. Happy 4th of July weekend!

  10. Quinn July 2, 2013 at 7:12 pm Reply

    You know, I absolutely love Lisa Kleypas’s historical romances, but I’ve just not been able to get myself to read her contemporary books. Even though I’ve heard good things. And Code Name Verity is on my list, too 🙂

  11. Sandie @Teen Lit Rocks July 2, 2013 at 10:41 pm Reply

    Oh please read Froi and Quintana. Isaboe and Finnikin are my central OTP in that series, but I LOVE Froi and Quintana and Lucian and his love story as well. Have you read Jellicoe Road? Froi and Quintana are like Jonah and Taylor — painful but soooo beautiful together.

    I too have CNV on my pile sitting there unread. I even had one of my friends from the Moms Who Love YA bookclub return it to me, and she had read Jellicoe, Chime, and other “hard to read” books. She doesn’t like YA books without romances, so she just gave it back (even though she thought the writing was excellent).

  12. Sharon (A Book Barbie) July 12, 2013 at 11:36 am Reply

    I’m totally with you on Code Name Verity. EVERYONE seems to love that book. And I just don’t feel like it can life up to the expectations. It also seems pretty intense, and I’m not so sure about the subject matter.

    BUT you should totally read Sugar Daddy! As well as Blue Eyed Devil and Smooth Talking Stranger, the next two in the series. My co-blogger and I are the #1 pushers of this series, because it is AMAZING. And we don’t want anyone to miss out. I understand being hesitant, because Lisa Kleypas writes killer historicals. But she is at the top of her game with these three books. ♥

Leave a Reply

