Year Two: We love our fellow bloggers! + GIVEAWAYS!!!!!

chevron-aqua

It’s our blogaversary!  We’ve made two whole years!!  Where does the time go??  We’ve been thinking about what to do for this post and Daph came up with the idea to feature some of our blog friends.  By the start of year two we had gotten the posting part of the blog down and we tried to start working on our blogger friendships.  Granted with a full-time job and A LOT of house drama this year (me) or moving to another state with two kids (Daph) it hasn’t been easy so I think we are definitely going into year three still working on this part.  To show you guys that we mean business and love you for supporting us even though we are still slackers we wanted to celebrate our second year blogging by focusing our fellow bloggers, because without you we honestly wouldn’t be here.

But first!!!  Just a quick bit about us! ( I mean come on, it is OUR anniversary. :P)

kiki

Kristina

(I know it isn’t a bookish pic but it’s the only one I have with my hair red which I only did about 2 weeks ago.)

What is your favorite book related moment of your second year blogging?

My birthday present from Brittany & Alyssa!  I wasn’t able to make BEA this year but they were awesome enough to pick up several books I was looking forward to, but most importantly they got me a SIGNED copy of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.  BEST GIFT EVER.

fg

Daphne

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

What is your favorite book related moment of your second year blogging?

Without a doubt, the time I fangirled all over Rainbow Rowell.  I embarrassed myself talking to her about how much I loved and related to Eleanor.  I kind of teared up talking about Eleanor & Rainbow was kind enough not to point and laugh at me.  She was very nice and generous and she even remembered me and our blog and the Selective Collective.  On the long ride home, I may have blasted Adele & sang along at the top of my lungs with a big goofy grin on my face, but I’ll never tell.  I would post a pic of her inscription to me, but it’s kinda personal. 

It’s kind of funny that we both had Rainbow Rowell related fave blogging moments.  Freaky.  But we have loved her work since Kristina discovered Attachments last year and practically forced me to read it 🙂 Good call, Kristina.  I honestly cannot think of another author I would be as excited to meet, and since I have met her, I may as well just hang it all up, right?

Now some of our favorite bloggers!

tammy

Tammy @ YA Crush  (Also known as Tee on her blog)

If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be?

The book I would recommend to everyone? The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson because it is funny and heartbreaking, and wonderfully romantic. Every word is beautiful. Notice it’s not pictured because it’s always loaned out to someone!

Why we love Tammy:

She’s Tammy.  She’s the reason we have a blog.  She’s the reason I started reading blogs.  What reason could I give for not loving her?  She is the best blogging friend/one day IRL friend you could ask for.  She’s the bees knees.  ~Kristina

She’s sweet & funny & our biggest cheerleader.  She’s everyone’s biggest cheerleader. She’s turned us on to so many books and she makes us laugh and has been there for us. The world needs more people like Tee. I also love her absolute devotion to Michael Moscovitz. ~Daphne

carrie
Carrie @ Stalking the Bookshelves (Carrie isn’t posting anymore but we are working on her to guest post here. )
If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be?
That question is so hard. Books are so personal and everyone is looking for something different but right now the book I can’t stop thinking and/or talking about is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I’m on a mission to get everyone I know to read it. It is simply amazing!
Why we love Carrie:
Carrie is a soul sister.  We like a lot of the same types of books.  We are always recommending books to each other and we generally tend to agree. Carrie is definitely one of the reasons I even go on twitter. I tend to feel out of the loop there, but I keep logging on for some reason, and I can count on Carrie to make me laugh or commiserate.  ~Daphne
I probably don’t chat with Carrie as much as Daphne does but that doesn’t mean I love her any less!  She’s always there to chat with, fangirl over a book with us, or even just talk us into picking our next read.  ~Kristina
Christina
If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be?
My favorite book of all time is Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume.  I love it because it was one of the first books that made me feel like I wasn’t alone.  Twelve is such an awful age, when you feel like everyone is looking at you like you’re something freakish, when you think no one could possibly understand you, when everything is messy and wrong.  Margaret made me feel like I wasn’t the only one feeling those things.  I think every tween girl should read it so they can commiserate with Margaret.  Adults should read it so they can remember what it feels like to be that age and hopefully be more understanding parents, teachers, and friends.  I recently met Judy Blume and she signed my ancient copy and I literally almost cried with happiness. 
Why we love Christina:
Christina just seems to me to have it all together.  She’s smart, opinionated (ha), and she seems like a grown up to me in a sea of young ‘uns.  She’s a parent, too, and we can celebrate and laugh at our parenting choices/decisions together.  Christina can write a review to a book I had no intention of reading, but it will suddenly seem like something I should pick up ASAP.  ~Daphne
Alyssa
If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be?
A book series that I recommend to everyone regardless of genre (or age) is The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede – They are whimsical and a fun read for all ages. 
Why we love Alyssa:  Alyssa is part of the pack!  A is one of the first blogger friends who I started texted (along with Brittany) and sometimes its scary just how close our opinions are (though strangely not about books since she compared our rated books and we don’t have that many in common.)  I’m glad to have “met” her and hope we meet IRL as well. ~Kristina
Kelly Katniss
If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be?
One book I recommend to EVERYONE is a no-brainer. Harry. Potter. I truly with every fiber of my heart believe everyone needs to read these books. Yes, there are 7. Yes, they become long, But TRUST ME, they are worth every page and you will wish you could have more. The books are about so much more than magic and a boy with a scar. They’re about hope and strength and forgiveness and good vs evil and above all that love. These books bleed love in every shape and form and I just wish everyone could have the same experience I had while reading. I grew up with these books and if I have to push any book on every single human in the world is would be Harry Potter…Harry. F’ing. Potter. All is well.
Why we love Kelly:
Kelly is probably my newest “soul sister”.  I feel like she truly gets me and my unexplainable book love (HELLO Black Dagger Brotherhood)  You couldn’t ask for a greater cheerleader and blogging friend. ~Kristina
Kelly is a girl after my own heart because she loves sexy time books as much as I do, and she’s very vocal about them. Plus she’s really funny and a Harry Potter nerd, which is the best kind of nerd to be. ~Daphne
candice
Candice @ The Grown Up Ya
If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be?
Everyone MUST read Jellicoe Road and The Book Thief. I don’t care what kind of books you normally like or what genres you normally gravitate to. These two books will make you realize just why books can be so amazing and heart-wrenching and beautiful and poignant and and and…
Why we love Candice: 
Candice is one of the funniest people I know. Just read her reviews. I generally laugh out loud several times.  Candice is a generous person, smart, and considerate. If she ever gets your name for Christmas, you’re in for a treat. 🙂 ~Daphne
I agree with Daph.  Candice will make you laugh, out loud, probably almost causing you to snort.  (Just don’t tell anyone.)  ~Kristina
sandie_hp
If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be?
I think that every lover of children’s and young adult literature should read the “Harry Potter” books by J.K. Rowling. I actually envy the fans, especially the kids, who were raised on the books and experienced the joy of waiting with dizzying anticipation for each new installment. I read them all in 10 days the summer after the “Half Blood Prince” movie was released, and I couldn’t get enough; they got better and better. I have yet to meet someone who didn’t appreciate some aspect of that series. They have it all: adventure, fantasy, coming of age, relationship drama, romance, war, boarding school shenanigans, and more. They’re quite fittingly magical to read, especially if you have children with whom to share the magic.
Why we love Sandie:
Sandie is living part of my dream.  She gets to meet celebrities, authors, go to Harry Potter in Orlando, see movies, read books, ALL FOR HER JOB.  Really, can it get anymore awesome then that?!  She is one of the nicest people and will gladly tell you all about her great experiences.  We are lucky to know her and thankful for her friendship. ~Kristina
Sandie is who I want to be when I grow up.  She’s smart, well-rounded, generous, professional, and kind.  Sandie seems like she can do it all without sweating, including a prestigious career as an entertainment journalist, a kick-ass blogger, a wife & mother.  See what I mean? I can barely keep it together enough to remember to feed my dogs. ~Daphne
britt
If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be?
If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be? Gosh, ONE book???? Hmmmmm. We all know I’d recommend Harry Potter so I won’t choose that 🙂 I’m flat out cheating and picking two because I can’t decide! One is The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler — Besides her beautiful writing, it was a great story about family, hardships, friends, and a super swoony romance. Two is Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo — I love the world she’s created and how it’s such a unique setting. Her plot and character development is amazing and it’s the book that got me ready fantasy when I thought I wasn’t a fantasy person. 
Why we love Brittany:
She’s the blogging ninja!  Quick did you see her?  She just wrote three reviews.  🙂  She is hands down the most dedicated blogger I know.  She kicks butt and takes names on a daily basis and I strive to be like her one day with our blog.  She will bend over backwards to help you with recs, banners (she is so awesome at them!), or just to text and talk about books or just life in generally. ~Kristina
rbr
Estelle & Magan @ Rather Be Reading
If you could recommend one book to everyone as a must read regardless of genre what would it be?
Magan: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – it’s about love and protecting those you care about. It’s sheds light on people’s stories that we may or may not relate to.
Estelle: Criminal by Terra Élan McVoy and Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas are two books where authors took risks in the young adult genre and truly succeeded. Both are very on the edge of your seat reads for different reasons.
Why we love the girls @ Rather Be Reading:
We’ve just recently started chatting more with these lovely ladies on twitter and they are super sweet.  Estelle just recently sent me a book just to share.  No contest, no gain for herself, just love for a book.  They are true sweethearts and I hope I will get to meet them if I can get my butt to BEA next year! ~Kristina
They do fantastic reviews and they’re pretty funny and interesting.  ~Daphne
GIVEAWAY!
What would an anniversary be without a gift?  Want to win some books?  Daphne is being super awesome and donating to the cause.  Like women’s fiction?  Young adult?  Since we feature both here on the blog we are having a giveaway for each one!
THE RULES
You can enter one giveaway or both but you can only win one of them. US Only (sorry!)  If you are chosen you have 48 hours to respond or we will pick a new winner.  Giveaway ends end of day on the 15th!
Adult Giveaway
You can pick any two (2) from the following:
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
Follow the link to enter our women’s/adult fiction giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

YA Giveaway *Please note My Life Next Door isn’t available for the giveaway.  Sorry for any confusion.*
You can pick any two (2) from the following:
GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAFollow the link to enter our YA giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

27 thoughts on “Year Two: We love our fellow bloggers! + GIVEAWAYS!!!!!

  1. C July 8, 2013 at 7:05 am Reply

    Happy 2 years!! Love your blog, love you guys!

  2. Happy blogaversary! Keep up the good work and thanks for letting me be a part of the celebration. Woot woot *group hug*

  3. Lisa Vazquezanzua (@lisavaz73) July 8, 2013 at 7:58 am Reply

    HAPPY 2nd BLOGAVERSARY!!! CONGRATS on two years of awesome blogging!! Wishing you many, many more years to come!!
    You guys are definitely in my top favorite bloggers!! Also one of my other favorite blogger is Jean from Jean Book Nerd. She is such an awesome sweet woman!!
    Thank you SO MUCH for having such a VERY GENEROUS and AMAZING giveaway!!! YOU GUYS ROCK!!!

  4. Candice @ The Grown-Up YA July 8, 2013 at 8:08 am Reply

    I LOVE YOU LADIES!!!! Seriously, you are both the bestest pals a girl could ever ask for. I’m oh so happy I found your blog and we have become such good friends! Okay, I’m stopping now before I start gushing! 🙂

  5. Brittany July 8, 2013 at 8:59 am Reply

    Congrats on two years!!!! 🙂

  6. Lucy July 8, 2013 at 10:02 am Reply

    Happy blogoversary! Yay! Hope you keep having fun with your blog for many years to come!

    • Gone Pecan July 8, 2013 at 11:18 am Reply

      Thanks! Hopefully we will be able to grow more in the next year. 🙂

  7. Quinn July 8, 2013 at 11:01 am Reply

    Happy Blogoversary! 2 years! That’s amazing! Go you two! And seriously, Rainbow Rowell is totally worth fangirling all over.

    • Gone Pecan July 8, 2013 at 11:19 am Reply

      Yeah, we kinda love her. . .just a little. 😛

  8. Estelle (@thatsostelle) July 8, 2013 at 11:10 am Reply

    Um you girls are fantastic. We are completely touched to be mentioned, especially in this great group of bloggin ladies. Here’s to 200 more years of blogging! You can do it!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Gone Pecan July 8, 2013 at 11:19 am Reply

      WOW, 200?? I might have to retire before then! Thanks for agreeing to be apart of our post. ~K

  9. Jamie July 8, 2013 at 11:11 am Reply

    Happy two years to two truly lovely ladies!

  10. Rachel July 8, 2013 at 11:15 am Reply

    Happy blogoversary!! I’ve just recently started talking to you two girls more and you two are awesome!

    • Gone Pecan July 8, 2013 at 11:20 am Reply

      Thanks! You’re pretty awesome too. 🙂

  11. Alice in Readerland July 8, 2013 at 11:52 am Reply

    Happy blogaversary!!! I love your blog and I hope the both of you have another fabulous year ahead! 🙂 I really liked hearing what everyone’s top book recommendation was!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  12. Kelly (@xoxoKellyNina) July 8, 2013 at 1:21 pm Reply

    I heart you both SO much!! And you’ve totally given me a few new blogs I didn’t know about to follow!!

    Reasons Why I Heart You Guys:
    Black Dagger Brotherhood
    Team Will Herondale
    I Hook for Books
    Bookish Soul Sisters

    Love the fact that you both love me for sexy times and smut books….I am so okay with that! Even though I feel like a bad influence haha 😉

  13. Kelly (@xoxoKellyNina) July 8, 2013 at 1:31 pm Reply

    Oh I also love how I’m not the only one who answered Harry Potter–YOU GUYS ROCK!

  14. bookrockbetty July 8, 2013 at 1:33 pm Reply

    CONGRATS you guys!!! Yay for 2 years!!! 🙂 I’ve loved reading your posts and getting to know you both better through twitter! Keep it up!! 🙂 Also, LOVE that you featured soooo many of my favorite bloggers!! I am also very excited to see that you are trying to get Carrie to guest post!! 🙂 Thumbs up!

  15. Sandie @Teen Lit Rocks July 8, 2013 at 10:54 pm Reply

    Congratulations beautiful ladies! It has been SO much fun getting to know you this past year, and I’m so honored you included me in the blogger love. And I want to be honest and say that I’ve felt pretty down on myself today, and your comments made my day 🙂

    • daphne July 10, 2013 at 5:58 am Reply

      it’s all completely true! we love you Sandie!

  16. james310 July 9, 2013 at 2:32 am Reply

    Congrats!!! Novel Sounds are a favorite and thehopelessromanticsbookblog ismellsheep.com

  17. Jeanne July 12, 2013 at 7:42 am Reply

    2 Years is great!! Nice blog and I am following. Thanks for the giveaway!!

Leave a Reply

