Movie Review: World War Z

wwz

What the heck is World War Z about? Well, we know it has Brad Pitt fighting to stop some kind of global outbreak but in the trailer they never really say what exactly the outbreak is.

So, I’m sitting here watching this trailer thinking, what the hell is wrong with these people? Are they on some super effective Vitamin B? Cause if it gives you that much energy, I could sure use it.  But after many viewings in which I am glued to the tube, I realize it’s about Zombies (hence the Z). And I’m like, this looks really cool.  Then, what do you know, it’s based on a book (like so many mediocre movies are, but also some great ones), and now my heart is pumping faster.  I REALLY WANT TO SEE THIS MOVIE. And, yes, it stars Brad Pitt, who I’m not really a fan of, but maybe it’s time for me to get over this because Jennifer surely has (Hi, Jen, love you!).  So the opportunity comes along (which let me tell you, it was a miracle finding a babysitter, we had to go out of state for it!) we took it and ran to the nearest theater (though my husband wanted to watch The Lone Ranger, I was like “Um, no, this is probably the only opportunity I will have to watch this movie before it’s out on DVD”).

But I digress.

This movie does not play around. The movie tells the story of Gerry Lane and his family. Gerry is a former UN employee, who’s since retired to be with his family, but you can tell he is a little bad ass. The first maybe ten minutes are kind of la la la, lovely Saturday with the family, playing games with the kids. Everything is fine and dandy. There’s a news report on the radio about a rabies outbreak, but THEN! Something happens (which, as we know, is helpful in a movie, I hate when nothing happens) and they’re running for their lives!  Gerry watches a man get bit by someone infected and he changes in 12 seconds…eek! Gerry contacts his former co-worker (boss?) with the UN and they tell him they’ll pick him and the family up and so they’re trying to get somewhere to make that happen and stumble upon a mostly abandoned apartment building, where they meet another family before getting overtaken by the infected people and just barely escaping with their lives.  They’re helicoptered to a battleship where Gerry is told he needs to help a young virologist find patient zero or he and his family will be dumped off the ship and told to fend for themselves. So, the rest of the movie is of Gerry trying to get to the bottom of this outbreak.

This movie was so fast paced and gripping, I was on the edge of my seat (literally) and I could feel the adrenaline coursing through my body because it was so fast paced and well done.  The zombies, despite being mindless eating machines, could really get around.  In each scene, I was just dying (not literally) of anxiety and I was really concerned that Gerry wouldn’t get back to his lovely kids and gorgeous wife. I loved the pacing and how smart and observant Gerry was (modern day Sherlock, he was).  This is the first movie in a REALLY long time that I wasn’t just waiting for it to end. In fact, I was disappointed when it was over. Don’t let the fact that it’s about zombies deter you from watching this movie. I did not read the book but I’ve heard that it’s kinda different. The book is a series of short stories told by the survivors of the Zombie War, but the movie follows one man, the one who figures out the whole thing, but he was also pretty heroic and assertive, the whole time thinking of returning to his family.

5/5

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: World War Z

  1. CMrok93 July 12, 2013 at 4:31 pm Reply

    A good film if you want a couple of tense thrills, but not much else other than that. Good review.

  2. bookgoonie July 15, 2013 at 7:33 am Reply

    Bam! You just made me want to watch the movie. And not just get it on Red Box watch the movie, but pay $8 per ticket (so for a family of 3, that’s like $24) watch the movie.

Leave a Reply

