Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland

nan For Cricket Thompson, a summer like this one will change everything. A summer spent on Nantucket with her best friend, Jules Clayton, and the indomitable Clayton family. A summer when she’ll make the almost unattainable Jay Logan hers. A summer to surpass all dreams.

Some of this turns out to be true. Some of it doesn’t.

When Jules and her family suffer a devastating tragedy that forces the girls apart, Jules becomes a stranger whom Cricket wonders whether she ever really knew. And instead of lying on the beach working on her caramel-colored tan, Cricket is making beds and cleaning bathrooms to support herself in paradise for the summer.

But it’s the things Cricket hadn’t counted on–most of all, falling hard for someone who should be completely off-limits–that turn her dreams into an exhilarating, bittersweet reality.

A beautiful future is within her grasp, and Cricket must find the grace to embrace it. If she does, her life could be the perfect shade of Nantucket blue.

Source:  egalley via Disney Hyperion/Netgalley

Character Highlights:

Cricket – I felt she was a very authentic YA voice.  I got her and I felt her pain.

Zack –  I lacked a connection with him but I did like him.  I would have liked a little more time with he and Cricket actually talking.

Liz – I wish I could hear her IRL!  I was going to include a few of my favorite quotes but that is basically anything Liz said.  Loved her so much!

Overall Thoughts:

This was a beautifully written contemporary that not only read fast but was an authentic YA book.  Everything about it felt true to a teenager’s response and I loved it all.  I do have to say I figured out (it’s a bad habit I just can’t break it) where the book was going pretty early on.  Did this stop me from reading?  No.  Did it make me not want to finish?  No.  Did it stop me from loving the book?  No.  This is a great contemp that is the perfect book to “cleanse” your reading palate and give you a boost if you might be in a reading slump.  I cannot wait to read more by Ms Howland in the future.

4/5

7 thoughts on “Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland

  1. bookgoonie July 15, 2013 at 7:29 am Reply

    The more I see this one the more I want to read it.

    • Gone Pecan July 15, 2013 at 8:14 am Reply

      I honestly think everyone will like/love it.

  2. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) July 15, 2013 at 12:19 pm Reply

    Early on I saw a few so-so and negative reviews of this one so I sort of pushed it aside but lately, I’ve seen some really good reviews and now I really want to read it! Especially since it’s summer and all.

    • Kristina July 15, 2013 at 12:26 pm Reply

      It is a bit predictable but I think it is a great summer read. I think you will like it!

  3. stellemarie July 16, 2013 at 8:29 am Reply

    I didn’t think it was TOO predictable but sometimes scenes felt too typically placed, if that makes sense. Like they were only there to move along the action when I thought it really was unnecessary. Despite that I think Howland is really on ot something and I can’t wait to read Nantucket Red. It’s really nice to actually read about a friendship that is going through the ringer without something crazy dramatic happening between them per say. It is a lot of their own sep demons getting in the way.

    Great review! Glad you enjoyed it.

    • Gone Pecan July 16, 2013 at 9:10 am Reply

      Yeah I think that’s just something I w always done. I think ahead and try to figure out what happens. Just so happened I was right this time. 🙂 I didn’t realize there was another book?! Thanks for stopping by and telling me!

  4. Candice July 22, 2013 at 10:44 am Reply

    Eeep! I want to read this one! Everyone has been saying how great it is and it sounds super good. Must get my hands on it soonly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

