Top 10 Tuesday #79

ttt

Top 10 Authors who need more love

Kristina:
Rainbow Rowell.  J/K!   (Well not really, but she’s kicking butt now that everyone is seeing how awesome she is so I won’t count her towards my top ten even though I love her so much!)
1.  Gretchen McNeil – I love her books soooo much!  If you read my review of Possess please note how many times I use the would creepy.  I love that horror in YA is starting to be recognized and becoming a bit more popular.  It’s about the only horror I can handle.  LOL (P.S. come back on 08/26 when Gretchen stops by GP for the Authors are Rock Stars tour!)
2.  Kerstin Gier – I reviewed the first two books in her time travel series Ruby Red & Sapphire Blue and I’m very anxiously awaiting the third and final book Emerald Green.  This book was translated from the German original but it reads perfectly.
3.  Lauren Morrill – Her debut Meant to Be was so cute!  We featured it as part of the SC and thank God Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide marked her new one down TBR or I might have missed it!  (Well I’m sure I would have stalked her author page eventually. :P) Expect to see her new book, Being Sloane Jacobs featured on the SC in January!!
4.  Daisy Whitney – Daph told me about her book Mockingbirds and though I haven’t read it I have read her latest title When You Were Here and it was BEYOND great.  I cannot wait to get her older books and I have her next book Starry Nights as well.
5.  Kody Keplinger – Have you read The Duff?  If not go now, I’ll wait.  Worth it right?
Daphne:
6.  Catherine McKenzie – A Canadian chick-lit author who writes phenomenal books with unique plots.  I want to gobble up all her books.
7.  Lisa Lutz – Author of the Spellman Files series, I had never heard of her until last year, but she’s funny (so funny) and her character, a PI Izzy Spellman, who is part of a family of PIs, reminds me a lot of a more controlled & less clutzy Stephanie Plum.
8.  Liza Palmer – I have to include her because I just read two of her books nearly back to back and LOVED them. She has the amazing ability to get into a character’s head and understand the psychology behind their actions.
9.  Toni Blake – She’s a romance author right up there with Lori Foster and I don’t think she gets enough credit for her fantastic books.  Her Destiny series had me obsessed for a little while.
10.  Ashley Elston – The Rules for Disappearing is one of my favorite YA books this summer.  She’s a Louisiana native & I love the voice of her characters.  I can’t wait for more from her.
12 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #79

  1. Candice July 16, 2013 at 8:33 am Reply

    I’ll have to pick up some of these authors! I haven’t read many of their books. But I totally trust your judgement and if you say they rock… I know they rock!

  2. allodoxophobia July 16, 2013 at 8:45 am Reply

    I have my first Gretchen McNeil sitting in the shelf! Excited to try it 🙂

    • Gone Pecan July 16, 2013 at 9:08 am Reply

      Yay! I can’t wait to see what you think about her books!

  3. Brittany July 16, 2013 at 9:00 am Reply

    Ohhhh I forgot Lauren Morrill!! She’s SO sweet and I just loved MTB! I can’t waaaait for Being Sloane Jacobs! 🙂

    • Gone Pecan July 16, 2013 at 9:08 am Reply

      Me either! I’m ready to swoon. :p

  4. Nicole July 16, 2013 at 9:09 am Reply

    Dang so I’ve only read Ashley Elston from this list! I have some work to do. I’ve been meaning to read Daisey Whitney’s When You Were Here, Kerstin Gier’s Ruby Red, and Kody Keplinger’s The Duff. I’ve heard great things about all these books. Hopefully soon!

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

    • Daphne July 16, 2013 at 9:10 am Reply

      all of Kody Keplinger’s books are fantastic.

  5. Heather@The Flyleaf Review July 16, 2013 at 10:31 am Reply

    Big resounding YES to Kody Keplinger, Rainbow Rowell, Ashley Elston, and especially Daisy Whitney:) All fantastic writers:)

  6. bookgoonie July 16, 2013 at 11:07 am Reply

    So love your list. Lots of authors I’m enjoying getting to know better, like Rowell, McNeil, Morrill…and so many more you just put on my radar. Woohoo!

  7. Merin July 16, 2013 at 4:05 pm Reply

    I really need to bite the bullet and read Meant to Be. I’ve heard so many good things about it.

    My TTT post

  8. downrightdystopian July 16, 2013 at 6:37 pm Reply

    I haven’t read anything by Kody Keplinger! I’ve wanted to read all of her books for so long. They sound so good and I’ve heard such great reviews. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

