The Selective Collective: 45 Pounds

sc-new

July’s Pick:

45

45 Pounds by K.A. Barson

Here are the numbers of Ann Galardi’s life:

She is 16.
And a size 17.
Her perfect mother is a size 6.
Her Aunt Jackie is getting married in 10 weeks, and wants Ann to be her bridesmaid.
So Ann makes up her mind: Time to lose 45 pounds (more or less) in 2 1/2 months.

Welcome to the world of infomercial diet plans, wedding dance lessons, embarrassing run-ins with the cutest guy Ann’s ever seen—-and some surprises about her NOT-so-perfect mother. 

And there’s one more thing. It’s all about feeling comfortable in your own skin-—no matter how you add it up!

We were given the task of casting this book for the SC’s Page to Screen feature.

** So, Ann’s supposed to be overweight. But you know Hollywood is all about the stick figure.  The closest we could find that we found fit with our heroine should not, by any stretch of the imagination, be considered “fat.”  We think that, with the proper padding & clothing, she could pass for a big girl.**

Ok so we had a clash of opinions this casting.  Generally since there are two of us on the blog we talk things over & try to compromise as best as we can.  When it comes to SC posts I think our unspoken rule has been whoever finishes the book first controls the post but I just couldn’t agree with some of Daph’s picks!  That’s not to say they aren’t great, I just didn’t see the characters the same way so I felt the need to add a few picks of my own.  If you guys hate mine I’m sorry but I had to get them out there!! ~Kristina

ANN

Daphne’s Pick:

Kaitlyn Jenkins plays Boo on the CW’s Bunheads.  I think her character there is very much like our Ann, sweet, self-conscious, a little socially awkward.  (Thanks to Candice for this suggestion.)

Kristina’s Pick:

demi2

Demi Lovato – She’s publicly gone through weight issues so I think a role like this would not only hit home with her in the lead but would feel authentic.

GRAM

Daphne’s Pick:

debra mooney

Debra Mooney for Gram, Ann’s chain-smoking, no-nonsense, sassy grandmother.  Debra’s a character actress that’s been in tons of movies and tv shows, including Everwood.  I think she would bring a lot of charm and humor to the character.   (Thanks to Sandie for this suggestion.)

Kristina’s Pick:

patriciaclarkson

Patricia Clarkson – Have you seen her in Easy A?  I realize she was a mom and not a grandmother in that one but she’s got the right spunk and she is the right age no matter how young she looks.

SUZY (Ann’s mom)

Daphne’s Pick:

vera_farmiga_t607

Vera Farmiga as Ann’s mother, Suzy, who’s a little obsessed with her body, which causes her to be a little over observant about Ann’s eating and exercise habits. I love this actress, who is in so many great movies and is now starring in A&E’s Bates Motel.

Kristina’s Pick:

katelevering

Kate Levering – She plays a tough as nails lawyer who has some issues on Drop Dead Diva.  If you watch the show I think you would agree with this choice.

RAYNEE

Daphne’s Pick:

Premiere Of Disneynature's "Oceans" - Arrivals

Raynee is one of the “Knees”-popular girls whose name has the -ney sound in their name.  She’s a co-worker of Ann’s and they soon become very good friends. Jennifer Stone was on Wizards of Waverly Place.

Kristina’s Pick:

maiamitchel_

Maia Mitchell – Maia is really starting to break out IMO.  With a new show (The Fosters) and a Disney movie coming out this week (Teen Beach Movie) she is all over the place.  She’s gorgeous but still has a girl next door attitude which is perfect for a Knee.

TONY

NicholasBraun

Tony is Ann’s brother who is absent for most of the book, but I wanted to cast him because Nicholas Braun is who I pictured as I read it.  Nicholas was Cameron in the TV adaptation of 10 Things I Hate About You and was Ponytail Derek (ha) in The Perks of Being a Wallflower. ~Daphne 

I’m completely ok with Daph’s pick here. . . the brother didn’t jump out at me and I love Nicholas. 🙂 ~Kristina

JON

Daphne’s Pick:

Noah+Munck+Spike+TV+10th+Annual+Video+Game+HBJ_16c0A02x

Noah Munck as Dimple Guy/Jon.  Ann develops a crush on another mall co-worker, who happens to be the cousin of her mean girl co-worker, Courtney.  Noah played Gibby on iCarly for years. So, there’s no dimple, but I think he’s adorable, in a little brother, pinch-his-cheeks kind of way.  I also think he looks like Josh Charles’ little brother (who I still think of as Knox Overstreet in Dead Poet’s Society).

Kristina’s Pick:

kress

Nathan Kress – I honestly didn’t know he played on iCarly with Daph’s pick till she told me.  I think he is adorable while still having a nice guy look about him.

So what do you guys think?  Who would you pick?  Let us know!

And because it plays a part in the book, here’s the video for Michael Jackson’s Thriller. 

K&D

Liked our Page to Screen?  Check out the other SC posts!!

Roudtable Discussion:  45 Pounds – Tee @ YA Crush

Review45 Pounds by K.A. Barson –  Sandie & Diana @ Teen Lit Rocks

 Author Q & A + GiveawayK.A. Barson – Brittany @ The Book Addict’s Guide

  Freebie:  Dieting Through the Ages  – Candice @ The Grown-Up YA

Thanks to Penguin/Viking for providing ARCS for review on the SC.

10 thoughts on “The Selective Collective: 45 Pounds

  1. […] Gone Pecan-Page to Screen […]

  2. Daphne July 18, 2013 at 6:48 am Reply

    i want to go on record to say that I disagree with all of Kiki’s choices. 🙂 Love you, though!

    • Gone Pecan July 18, 2013 at 6:59 am Reply

      It’s ok, obvs “I don’t agree with you bc I wanted to add some. LOL 😛 Though I do love your grandmother pick. . .just not here. 🙂 ~K

  3. K.A. Barson July 18, 2013 at 8:04 am Reply

    This is so much fun! You both chose some amazing people to play 45 POUNDS’ characters. I’m not going to say who I agree with most, but if you must know, here’s a clue: she could be a Knee. (Although I honestly loved EVERY choice!)

    • Daphne July 18, 2013 at 8:09 am Reply

      *fist pump*

      • Gone Pecan July 18, 2013 at 8:16 am

        You can fist pump all day long and I won’t agree.

  4. Brittany July 18, 2013 at 8:59 am Reply

    Oh I love your choices!! Especially Debra Mooney (I didn’t realize who she was by name, but once I saw the picture, I was like oh, she’s perfect!) and Daphne’s choice for Jon too! I had a hard time coming up with an image of him (honestly, sometimes when I picture characters, it’s just a blur of features with no distinctness haha) and he fit that description so well!! Great job, ladies! 🙂

    • Daphne July 18, 2013 at 10:59 am Reply

      thanks!

  5. Sandie @Teen Lit Rocks July 18, 2013 at 7:56 pm Reply

    I will gladly take credit for Debra Mooney, who is one of my favorite character actors ever. She was amazing on “Everwood,” which I loved. In fact, although she’s not named it because of the show, my daughter’s (uncommon) name was on that show!

    How fun to see both sets of picks, but I have to say that I think Patricia Clarkson is way too young to play the kind of grandmother described in the book. But I do think she’s awesome!

  6. Candice July 19, 2013 at 7:19 am Reply

    So yeah…. I have no clue who I would choose! Although I do LOVE Jennifer Stone – she is just too cute!

Leave a Reply

