Top 10 Tuesday #80

ttt

Words/Topics that make me not pick up a book…or put it right back down

  1. Incest/Sexual Abuse – Look, I read for entertainment. I want to smile and maybe say “aww…,” and these topics are not entertaining to me.  This little book called Room by Emma Donaghue has gotten tons of fantastic reviews, but I will never pick it up, though it does sound like a great book and may even have a happy ending.
  2. Religious Horror – Books like The Exorcist, nope. Not gonna happen. Keep it away from me.
  3. Update on a classic – I will probably not read an update or re-imagining of a classic book.  There are exceptions to this and I think you’ll understand why.  Their names are Shakespeare & Austen. I will pretty much reread any update on Pride and Prejudice or any of her other books and I will read/watch mostly anything that redoes Shakespeare’s comedies.
  4. Horror in general – When I was younger, I LOVED me some Christopher Pike and R. L. Stine, but these days I steer clear of them. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s just because I prefer romance books.  The exception to this is paranormal.  I don’t mind a good ghost story.
  5. Angels – I don’t know why, they just don’t seem interesting to me.  But Oh, you say, you loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone and it’s sequel. That’s because I didn’t know it was about angels going in.  And they’re not your typical Angels. Don’t bother trying to convince me that if I like that, I will like others. I’m just not interested.
  6. No HEA – If it’s obvious a book isn’t going to have a Happily Ever After, I pretty much don’t want to read it. I understand that not all stories end well, but generally, the types of books I read should have a happy ending.  I will make exceptions, of course, but I want the characters to be riding off into the sunset together. Sue me.
  7. Books that have some broad “message” – Again, this goes back to “I read for entertainment,” I am not looking to be preached to. Plus, I’m pretty easily persuaded and will completely dive in and drink the Kool-aid, so I should probably steer clear of these for sanity’s sake.

daph

8.  Werewolves – I really just can’t anymore.  Books that are solely focused on werewolves do nothing for me.  I was never Team Jacob and I never will be.  Don’t even get me started on how The Nightshade series ended.  UGH.

9. Angels – I kind of overloaded on these.  I still have one series I haven’t finished that I will try to push through eventually but I’m just over them.

10.  Westerns – I’m not talking period pieces that are really just romance in disguise.  I’m talking full-blown John Wayne or Dirty Harry like stuff.  If you give me a romance to follow I can work with that but straight up westerns are not my thing.

kiki

14 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #80

  1. bookrockbetty July 23, 2013 at 8:29 am Reply

    Totally agree with you on INCEST and WESTERNS. No thanks. hahaha

  2. readerbuzz July 23, 2013 at 8:33 am Reply

    Excellent list. Agree. Agree. Agree. But I would interject one thing: Lonesome Dove is a fabulous Western. It’s the exception for me.

    Here’s my Top Ten list.

  3. Candice July 23, 2013 at 9:57 am Reply

    I’ve never tried a western… but… yeah, the only movie that I’ve liked was McClintock and that’s because it was more of a comedy than really a western. Therefore, I don’t think I’d like to try a western unless it was a heavy romance… which then turns it into something that is not a western.

    I’m about 50/50 on the HEA – on the one hand, I LOVE a happy ending. I want the characters to have a fairy tale. But on the other, I love when the ending is left to the imagination and filled with possibilities. I think it more depends on the characters though.

    Anyway… great lists ladies!

  4. Rory July 23, 2013 at 10:30 am Reply

    I occasionally like updates on a classic, but it’s rare. I love Jane Eyre and read all the modern adaptations, but I’m always left disappointed. I don’t like message books either.

  5. Brittany July 23, 2013 at 11:43 am Reply

    I definitely can’t do horror! I’m such a chicken and I’m okay with that! GHOSTS would have been number one on my list haha! I can’t do werewolves either. Shiver did not end well. Eh. And sexual abuse is always hard to read. It’s just not what I want to pick up as a casual reader!

  6. Ka'uhawanawana July 23, 2013 at 12:47 pm Reply

    Ah, I agree with that list…religious horror, first time I’ve seen it on the list but I should have put that on my list.

  7. Elizabeth July 23, 2013 at 1:17 pm Reply

    Yeah, I don’t do religious horror either. Too creepy for me. And yeah, issue books are dumb. I don’t know why anyone wants to read an after school special for fun.

    This is going to sound crazy, but the best class I have ever taken was about Westerns and we had to read and watch them for the class. I don’t read Westerns for myself, but I definitely have a much bigger appreciation of them after that class!

  8. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) July 23, 2013 at 2:28 pm Reply

    Westerns and werewolves made my tiny little list too. I don’t mind cowboys in a romance novel (non-cheesy, please!) but I mean serious, True Grit Westerns. The movies? Love them, like with Clint Eastwood and all that. But HATE the books. And werewolves just no no no forever no.

    And also, I like to read to escape, so the majority of my books are books that I choose for that purpose. I do read some that aren’t HEA, mostly NO NOT REALLY. .

  9. Lucy July 23, 2013 at 6:19 pm Reply

    Totally agree about religion and westerns. And I like a good HEA too. I loved Stephen King as a kid but just can’t bring myself to read horror these days.

  10. C July 23, 2013 at 7:20 pm Reply

    Blech Westerns. No thank you very much.

  11. Kelly L. July 23, 2013 at 7:47 pm Reply

    Incest and sexual abuse are books I’m staying far, far away from. No thank you to them.
    Books that have a broad message are also not for me. Like you said, we only read for entertainment, not to learn. 😛
    Awesome list! 😀

    My TTT

  12. bookgoonie July 24, 2013 at 7:32 am Reply

    I so love for some sort of HEA ❤ Not much for angels too. No bueno on the abuse, especially when it's not treated as it should be. I'm light on the horror too. Got to keep the nightmares at bay.

  13. Quinn July 24, 2013 at 10:12 am Reply

    Oh yeah, I hate being preached to. Ugh! Even if it is something I agree with.

    And seriously, HEA is always what I want, too. I read for entertainment, too!

  14. Ashley @The Quiet Concert July 25, 2013 at 6:14 pm Reply

    I did not even think about Westerns. I totally agree with you!

Leave a Reply

