The Fury by Alexander Gordon Smith

fury

Imagine if one day, without warning, the entire human race turns against you, if every person you know, every person you meet becomes a bloodthirsty, mindless savage . . . That’s the horrifying reality for Cal, Brick, and Daisy. Friends, family, even moms and dads, are out to get them. Their world has the Fury. It will not rest until they are dead.

In Alexander Gordon Smith’s adrenaline-fueled saga, Cal and the others must uncover the truth about what is happening before it destroys them all. But survival comes at a cost. In their search for answers, what they discover will launch them into battle with an enemy of unimaginable power.

Source:  ARC/egalley via Macmillian/Netgalley

Story Breakdown:

Suffering through constant headaches and weird situations with friends and strangers alike, Cal, Daisy, and Brick felt like something has been a bit off for a while.  Then suddenly they are attacked without reason.  By EVERYONE.  When they get close enough to other people something changes making them turn into some horrible version of themselves and attack with their only goal in killing them.  Discovering that a small group of others like them are out there, they find each other while also trying to figure out what is happening to them and how to stop it.

Character Highlights:

Cal – I feel like he is my main MC but something lacks when I try to connect with him in the book.  I don’t hate him by any means but I’m not exactly rooting for him all the same.

Brick – I feel the worse for him even though the first attack on him was just one person.  Someone you love is completely different from a stranger.

Daisy – I really don’t get these “powers” of hers and her just knowing everything about everyone and what they are thinking.  I need more to go on here and I lacked explanation on so much.

Rilke – WHAT A WITCH!  Of course I will tell you witch isn’t the right word I’d use but I’m trying to keep this PG.  But maybe I wanted to punch her in the throat?  MAYBE.

Overall Thoughts:

Ok so the idea behind this book was seriously intriguing.  Also, let’s look at that cover.  Scare the crap out of you?  Because once you read that first chapter I’m pretty sure you will be scared if that didn’t do it.  This book is extremely dark, brutal, bloody, and in your face with extremely descriptive accidents and situations.  I’m not going to lie to you, I was scared to read a good bit of it at night.

Being as it is set in another country and uses some terms I wasn’t 100% familiar with I lost a bit in translation so to speak but I loved it overall.  I know the size is intimidating but if you are looking for something to scare the pants off of you then you’ve found the right book.  It took over half the book for me to even get a small grasp on what the heck was going on.  Well played Mr. Smith, well-played.

4/5

kiki

5 thoughts on “The Fury by Alexander Gordon Smith

  1. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) July 25, 2013 at 9:38 am Reply

    Okay, so this book? Terrifying and horrifying, but utterly unputdownable. My stop is tomorrow and I’m all WHAAAAA every time I pick it up. It’s my first book by this particular author and I have to admit that I’m intrigued by his other Furnace series after reading this one. Interesting format. I liked it. But that opening scene? GOOD GRIEF. I was hooked and freaked the heck out!

  2. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) July 25, 2013 at 9:39 am Reply

    Also, um, THAT COVER!!! I couldn’t sleep with it upright anywhere in the room. It had to be facedown. HAHA!

    • Gone Pecan July 25, 2013 at 9:43 am Reply

      HAHA. I KNOW!!! I will def have to check out your post tomorrow. It’s my first book by him as well and I think I might try another. . .but I need a break between them thats for sure. 😛 ~k

  3. Candice July 25, 2013 at 11:49 am Reply

    AGGGGHHHHH!!! That cover is so scary! I must read it ASAP! I love love love scary books so I’m glad to find one that is completely horrifying!

    • Gone Pecan July 25, 2013 at 12:29 pm Reply

      I’d say the scariness of the book started to slow down mid book. After that the it was still VERY descriptive but I was used to it.

Leave a Reply

