Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

VA1St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger…

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

Source: local library

Story Breakdown:

After being on the run for over two years best friends Rose and Lissa are found by the Dhampir (Moroi guardians) and brought back to St. Vladimir’s, a school where young people of both kind are taught how to fight and use their powers.  But there is a reason they left.  Something happened to them that they aren’t talking about and something is happening again.

Character Highlights:

Rose – Ok for a good half of the book I wanted to hurt her for real.  It did wear off but man she had some serious blinders on!

Lissa – She was the opposite of Rose for me.  I started liking her at the beginning but a little less with each chapter.  By the end I liked her again but I definitely need more information on her background.

Dimitri – Ah Dimitri.  The wooer of so many hearts.  I get it, I do.  BUUUUT  I don’t quite feel it 100% yet.  He seems hot in my head and I definitely see the potential.  I’m thinking at least one more book into the series to tip the scales.  But the age gap?  OOGEY.  It’s not huge but when characters are young it looks bad.  We shall see how this goes. . .

Christian – We don’t see much of him but I really felt bad for him.  I can’t wait to see more of him! (Hopefully?)  I’ve been purposely avoiding all blurbs to not jump the gun here.

Overall Thoughts:

I’ve been putting off reading this series for a long time.  A friend of mine has been pushing me to read them and even let me borrow the first few which sat on my shelf for over a year without me even cracking them open.  After a few twitter chats and an upcoming movie I decided it was time to buckle down and read book one.  I’m so glad I did!  I really enjoyed it which surprised me since I went into reading it jaded on vampire books.  I like the idea behind the guardians and their relationships with the different vampires as well as the lightness of the book. We get background information but there isn’t a great deal of deep thought needed for this story and you are able to just enjoy the moment.  I will definitely be picking up book two sooner than later as well as delving into the casting to see if it matches what I see in my head.  Look for more Vampire Academy posts in the near future!

4/5

kiki

3 thoughts on “Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

  1. Kelly (@xoxoKellyNina) July 26, 2013 at 11:17 pm Reply

    Yay!! Dimitri will woe you yet!! Did I spell that right…oh well. Seriously though, these characters will all dig their claws into your heart..especially Rose and Dimitri. And I totally agree about the dhampir and Moroi relationships. It is so interesting how they interact and the roles they play. Yay, can’t wait for you to keep reading!! 🙂

  2. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) July 29, 2013 at 9:03 am Reply

    I haven’t read these yet which is surprising because I LOVE vampire books and always will. Like, I’m not even tired of them. But I’m LAME because I’m the last person on earth that hasn’t read these. LAME. But I do want to start them before the movie. And at least this series is finished. I think. I think?

    • Gone Pecan July 29, 2013 at 11:16 am Reply

      I think so too. There is a spinoff series of 6 books that is on book 4 right now? you aren’t alone, I JUST read it last week! (But I did pick up boko two already. :P) I wonder if because the book is on the smaller side they will combine more than one for the movie? I doubt it thought bc they want to make as much $$ as possible.

Leave a Reply

