Top Ten Tuesday #81

ttt

Top Ten Favorite Beginnings/Endings In Books

Beginnings:

1. “When I stepped out into the bright sunlight from the darkness of the movie house, I had only two things on my mind: Paul Newman and a ride home.” The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton (It’s actually the opening and closing line of the book.)

2. “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (It so perfectly embodies the entire book.)

3. “The Garrets were forbidden from the start.” My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

4. “Mr and Mrs Dursley, of number four Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.” Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

5. The Fury by Alexander Gordon Smith – Ok I JUST read this one but WOW. That opening chapter was brutal.

Endings:

6. “Max stepped into his private boat and waved goodbye and sailed back over a year and in and out of weeks and through a day and into the night of his very own room where he found his supper waiting for him—and it was still hot.” Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

7. “So…be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea, you’re off to great places! Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting! So…get on your way!” Oh, The Places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss

The following are beginnings/endings to recent or popular books, so we don’t want to spoil the ending, but just know that they were fantastic.

8. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green — I don’t know what to say about this book, just that I didn’t know what to expect from the ending and I think it was perfect.

9. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell — A controversial ending, to be sure, but I like that it was pretty much open ended.

10. Delirium & Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver – I admit that I haven’t read the last book yet (I CAN’T let go!) but the endings for the first two books? CRAZY.
K&D
11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #81

  1. Ashley@The Quiet Concert July 30, 2013 at 8:18 am Reply

    I almost put Eleanor and Park but then debated for a while because even though I did understand the ending I wanted SO much more!!

    Our TTT

    Ashley @ The Quiet Concert

    • Daphne July 30, 2013 at 9:05 am Reply

      I can certainly understand that feeling

  2. Rachel July 30, 2013 at 9:17 am Reply

    Ohhh I have Pandemonium on my list as well! I remember thinking the end of Delirium was pretty crazy, but I was even more shocked by Pandemonium (I also have a special spot for that book in my heart haha).

  3. Quinn July 30, 2013 at 2:20 pm Reply

    Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, I love that you included Where the Wild Things Are! Such a perfect ending. Did you know the the publishers (or editor or something along those lines) wanted the last bit to say “And it was still warm” because they felt like “hot” was too harsh or something. Silly, right? Sendak said no way, and clearly he knew what he was talking about.

    And YAY for P&P and Harry Potter!

    • Daphne July 30, 2013 at 4:13 pm Reply

      I had to include a couple kids books. These are the best.

  4. Nicole July 30, 2013 at 2:38 pm Reply

    I just adore the beginning/middle/end of every Harry Potter book, The Fault In Our Stars, and My Life Next Door so I agree with you there no matter which way you went. 😀 And I had forgotten about the endings to Delirium/Pandemonium but they were good! Great list!

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

    • Daphne July 30, 2013 at 4:13 pm Reply

      i agree about HP, TFiOS, & MLND…but couldn’t put the whole thing, right? 🙂

  5. C July 30, 2013 at 4:59 pm Reply

    Oh! Where the Wild Things Are! You know, I never really read it as a child but we love reading it with our daughter.

    • Daphne July 30, 2013 at 6:17 pm Reply

      yeah, it’s one of our faves, too

  6. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) July 30, 2013 at 6:20 pm Reply

    THE FURY OH MY GOSH THAT BEGINNING CHAPTER.
    Also YAY for My Life Next Door!!!!
    But seriously, The Fury.

  7. Elizabeth July 30, 2013 at 9:29 pm Reply

    Where the Wild Things Are! Oh my heart! It was one of my favourite picture books growing up. I had forgotten how wonderful that ending was.

Leave a Reply

