This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

This Song Will Save Your Life

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing. (Goodreads)

Source: Via Netgalley/Farrar, Straus and Giroux/MacMillan for an honest review
Characters:

Well, Elise. Elise is unpopular.  She’s so unpopular, she has no friends and hasn’t for years.  She’s lonely and she’s bullied.  Not only is she bullied, but she has no idea how other people function, how they are “normal” when she feels anything but.  She wants to fit in, though, so Elise has made a plan to be liked by others so she doesn’t have to be alone anymore.  It backfires on her and she then decides that she’s tired of being constantly, relentlessly bullied and maybe she’ll just kill herself.  Months later, she’s still alive and still struggling, but she’s also still being bullied, when she stumbles upon a secret dance club and this is when she finally starts to feel like she’s somewhat normal, not invisible, not the butt of the joke. She’s drawn into this world by these strangers and she becomes a part of it and she finds herself drawn to not only the people, but her precociousness has led her to the fine art of DJing, where she excels.

Conflict:

Oh, Elise has no idea what she’s doing, but she’s finally functioning on the same level as everyone else. She’s no longer desperate to fit in, but she’s found her niche and she starts to feel better about herself. Then one day, she finds out that someone has been posing as her online and it seems like she cannot drag herself out of other people’s perceptions of her. What if they’re right?

Overall Thoughts:

This is a hard review to write.  There’s so much I don’t want to say because I don’t want to give anything away and also, the feelings this book elicited are so personal.  No, I’ve never thought of killing myself, but for a long time I didn’t have friends, either, and I wonder how I survived the elementary school years.  I know what it’s like to be excluded and laughed at for no reason other having the guts to be yourself.  So I felt for Elise on that level.  But also, as a parent, I was so frustrated and angry for her but also for myself and her parents because, what can you do?  I felt very impotent on her behalf.  I want to make clear that this book is in no way depressing or dark.  It was actually very light-hearted and uplifting.  It was funny, too.  I loved it & powered through it pretty quickly.  Elise tried to change herself so that other people would see her as normal, but when she found something that made her unique, she flourished.  I loved the message of this book.  Also, there is some romance, but I don’t want to talk about it because I feel that it was incidental to her story.  It was important because it helped Elise to come out of her shell, but it’s not what made her succeed in the end, and I loved that.

4/5

daph

8 thoughts on “This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

  1. C July 31, 2013 at 7:04 am Reply

    I’m dying to read this one, will get to it soon. I love books that elicit all kinds of feelings, especially personal ones, so now I’m even more excited 🙂

    • Daphne July 31, 2013 at 8:16 am Reply

      it’s really good. i think you’ll like it.

  2. Hollie @ Music, Books and Tea July 31, 2013 at 1:04 pm Reply

    I’ve been really looking forward to this one, I thought it was just a really light-hearted and fun book, but it’s nice to see that it tackles a more serious subject as well but stays uplifting at the same time. Great review!

    • Daphne July 31, 2013 at 2:58 pm Reply

      yes, i didn’t realize the issues that this book would cover, but it was great.

  3. bookgoonie July 31, 2013 at 4:53 pm Reply

    This sounds like a must read for me. I hate that feeling…of impotency…as an adult, especially when you know something needs done BUT can’t quite figure out how to fix it.

    • Daphne July 31, 2013 at 5:47 pm Reply

      i think what’s worse is that the parents won’t/don’t necessarily know the extent of it.

  4. Top 10 Tuesday #100 | Gone Pecan April 22, 2014 at 8:47 am Reply

    […]  Elise in This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales.  This was one of my favorite books from last year. It’s a beautiful story […]

  5. […] book with a good message, but I couldn’t connect with Arden like I could with Elise in This Song Will Save Your Life. Also, Sales promised at the beginning of the book that it was a love story, and it did end up […]

Leave a Reply

