Top 10 Tuesday #83

ttt

Top Ten Favorite Books With X Setting

Well, my secret love is England. I am a bit of an Anglophile, so I as going to go with Regency England, but that would be mostly historical romance for me, and I wanted to broaden it a bit, so I’m going to tell you my top 10 books set in England.

pride and prejudice

1.  Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  You saw this coming, didn’t you?

bridget jones

2.  Bridget Jone’s Diary by Helen Fielding.  This is too easy.

Devil in Winter (Wallflowers, #3)

3. Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas (The Wallflowers #3).  Ooh, so this is historical romance, but it’s also Lisa Kleypas, which makes it amazing.  Add to that, some pretty spectacular characters (including a hero who was the bad guy in the previous book who completly redeems himself here) and it’s definitely my favorite of the series.

Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Bridgertons, #4)

4.  The Bridgerton Series by Julia Quinn. Again, the English Regency.  I can’t pick a favorite out of these, don’t make me.  They’re all amazing. (I lie, my favorite is Romancing Mr. Bridgerton, #4.)

The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next #1)

5.  The Thursday Next Series by Jasper Fforde.  It’s an alternate world England and it’s so well crafted and amazingly complex…This series is definitely different in the best way.

Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married

6.  Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes. A psychic told Lucy that she’s going to get married within the year and so when she meets this incredibly unreliable man who reminds her a lot of her father, she thinks this may be the guy. Oh, this book. I didn’t expect to love it so much, but just remembering the story makes me want to reread.

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)

7.  The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare. There’s so much to love in this series, including an unbelievable love triangle and some kick-ass females.  And Will Herondale.

You don't have to

8. You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me by Sarra Manning.  Such a cute book about a woman who’s lost a ton of weight and needs a practice boyfriend before she embarks on a relationship with the person she’s really in love with, who’s only ever seen her overweight.  This book made me so happy.

I've Got Your Number

9.  I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella.  Sometimes her books can be hit or miss for me because the heroine is a bit of a ditz, but this was really cute.

name of the star

10.  Shades of London by Maureen Johnson. Rory is a transplant to England from Louisiana who becomes involved with a group of ghost police.  It sounds kind of incredible, but it’s so good, just enough romance and mystery and horror to make it un-put-downable.

daph

17 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #83

  1. Candice @ The Grown-Up YA August 13, 2013 at 9:01 am Reply

    Happy dance for Lucy Sullivan!!!!!!

    And these other books are great too.

    But LUCY SULLIVAN!!!! So happy it made your list! 🙂

    • Daphne August 13, 2013 at 1:12 pm Reply

      and i owe it all to you 🙂

  2. Ashley @The Quiet Concert August 13, 2013 at 9:05 am Reply

    Love your pick! Bridget Jones is fantastic and The Infernal Devices made my list too 🙂

    Our TTT

    Ashley @ The Quiet Concert

    • Daphne August 13, 2013 at 1:44 pm Reply

      great minds think alike 🙂

  3. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) August 13, 2013 at 9:26 am Reply

    Oooh, I almost chose this topic, too. So many amazing books are set in England! My favorite on your list is the Shades of London series. It wasn’t at all what I expected, but I totally love it!

    • Daphne August 13, 2013 at 1:44 pm Reply

      i know! there were a lot that i loved but had to leave out. Love Shades of London & cannot wait for the next book!

  4. Ginger (@GReadsBooks) August 13, 2013 at 9:58 am Reply

    England! Great setting for books to be told 🙂 I’m reading Lisa Kleypas right now (but it’s her Travises series). I’ve also read one of her historical romances. She is so good at all genres!

    And yes, of course Will Herondale.

    • Daphne August 13, 2013 at 1:45 pm Reply

      i started the travis series, too, recently. i’m not far into the first book, but i do love me some Hardy Cates. the Wallfowers series was fantastic. if you like historical at all, I def. recommend it.

  5. Heather@The Flyleaf Review August 13, 2013 at 10:52 am Reply

    Bridget Jones Diary,…YESSSSS:) And I’ve included Lisa Kleypas’ Texas Travis boys in my TTT today but haven’t read her Regency stuff yet:) Nice list Daphne!

    my TTT

    • Daphne August 13, 2013 at 1:46 pm Reply

      Lisa Kleypas rocks! i like her Friday Harbor series, too.

  6. Lili August 13, 2013 at 3:19 pm Reply

    How did I not put Cassandra Clare on mine? I am an idiot… haha

    But yeah, I totally see why you said many of my books on my TTT are going on your TBR. Like half of that list (if not more) was set in historical England!

  7. Carrie-Anne August 13, 2013 at 3:49 pm Reply

    Have you ever read Kathleen Winsor’s Forever Amber? It’s set during Restoration England, and has often been compared to GWTW for all the similarities between Amber and Scarlett. I treasure my copy, since it’s an original 1944 printing with the text on two columns on each page, presumably due to wartime paper shortages.

    • Daphne August 13, 2013 at 3:59 pm Reply

      ooh, i’m going to check it out, thanks!

  8. Belle August 13, 2013 at 6:51 pm Reply

    Pride and Prejudice and Bridget Jones’s Diary are two of my fave books! I haven’t read any of the others but there are quite a few on my TBR list.

  9. Jillyn August 13, 2013 at 9:24 pm Reply

    Great list. I adore Sophie Kinsella.

    My TTT.

  10. Quinn August 14, 2013 at 12:41 pm Reply

    Hello, fellow Anglophile. I have a list of celebrities that I am going to marry (if only) and all four are from the U.K. (Ewan McGregor, Henry Cavill, Gerard Butler, Stever West).

    Anyway, the first four on your list are some of my favorites. I mean, P&P is my favorite book ever, Sebastien in Winter is . . . *sigh*. Bridget Jones is a hilarious retelling of P&P and JQ! Penelope & Colin! And Mrs. Whistledown!

    Anyway, awesome choices. I also love TID and The Name of the Star, too.

  11. megamad4books August 16, 2013 at 5:54 am Reply

    I love your choice of setting!!
    Great list, I particularly love The Name of the Star! 🙂

Leave a Reply

