Frostbite by Richelle Mead

FBRose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose…

It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians—including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if hand-to-hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy’s not taking any risks… This year, St. Vlad’s annual holiday ski trip is mandatory.

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price…

Source:  borrowed from local library

Story Breakdown:

Picking up where VA left off the girls are back in school trying to catch up with everyone so they can graduate on time.  Leaving campus to take a Guardian test, Rose and Dimitri discover a horrible attack has occurred by the Strigoi causing panic among the Moroi.  The school decides that everyone will go together on a ski trip over winter break so that the Guardians can protect them until they can figure out what is going on but then another attack occurs leaving more questions than answers. . .

Character Highlights:

Rose – Definitely liking her more now than in book one I think because she seems to be growing up extremely quickly and getting serious about her responsibilities.  I can honestly say I don’t care for her mother AT ALL right now.

Dimitri – Things are picking up here as well.  I’m seeing more of his hotness with each passing chapter.  I fully expect for the pages to be on fire by book three/four people.

Lissa – We see less of her in book two and I know this is going to sound horrible but YAY!  I want to read about hot Guardians so this wasn’t something that bothered me too much.  I am interested to see how her powers develop now though.  The mind connection to Rose was a bit more oogey in this book for obvious reasons.

Adrian – Yes please.

Overall Thoughts:

My interest is definitely picking up even more after reading book two.  Again I still love the lightness of the story and how it’s completely engaging without some serious world building required.  These books are all the greatness of reading paranormal without all the boring lead in bits.  It’s a given I need to pick up book three this week and after “meeting” Adrian I’m ready to complete the VA series so I can move on to the Bloodlines!

4/5

kiki

5 thoughts on “Frostbite by Richelle Mead

  1. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) August 28, 2013 at 12:54 pm Reply

    So I skipped over this because I’m still lame and haven’t read VA. I just wanted to admit my lameness…again. That’s the first step, right? Admitting it? I need remember to read these. Grr. I’m assuming that since you went further in the series you’re enjoying them. (:

    • Kristina August 28, 2013 at 12:59 pm Reply

      HAHA!! Yes I do like them! It isn’t a “thinking” series so it has more of a lighter feeling for me. Nowadays YAs are so massive and there is a ton of world building. This is like taking a fun vampire vacation from those. LOL

  2. bookgoonie August 29, 2013 at 5:28 am Reply

    It has been a year & I need to pick up Frostbite. Especially with all the movie magic being revealed.

  3. Hannah September 7, 2013 at 5:25 pm Reply

    I read the first Vampire Academy book and then kinda forgot about continuing the series until I spotted them in the library one day. After that? I was a goner. I think book two is where things really started to pick up, but book three was the one where I knew I was going to be binge reading this series QUICKLY. Haha!

    • Gone Pecan September 9, 2013 at 9:56 am Reply

      Oh I have book 3 waiting for me, I just need to finish a few books that have deadlines (at least they do in my head, LOL) I hope I get that same feeling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

