Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender

MAColette Iselin is excited to go to Paris on a class trip. She’ll get to soak up the beauty and culture, and maybe even learn something about her family’s French roots.

But a series of gruesome murders are taking place across the city, putting everyone on edge. And as she tours museums and palaces, Colette keeps seeing a strange vision: a pale woman in a ball gown and powdered wig, who looks suspiciously like Marie Antoinette.

Colette knows her popular, status-obsessed friends won’t believe her, so she seeks out the help of a charming French boy. Together, they uncover a shocking secret involving a dark, hidden history. When Colette realizes she herself may hold the key to the mystery, her own life is suddenly in danger . . .

Source:  ARC via Scholastic

Story Breakdown:

After her parents divorced Colette has been desperately trying to hold onto her status and keep up appearances, hoping her friends won’t find out that she no longer has money like them and now on a scholarship.  Trying to make up for all of the changes, her mother agrees to let Colette participate in a school trip to France.  While in Paris she learns of several murders that have occurred in the city and a disturbing coincidence that might mean she is in danger as well.

Character Highlights:

Colette –  I’m torn.  I feel bad for her because I completely get wanting to fit in and all but I think my conscience would kick in before I would sit back and watch others be bad-mouthed or treated less than.  So while I liked her at times, others I hated her so much for not stepping up.

Jules –  Adorable.  I loved the small glimpse of his family, I would have loved more time with them.

Armand – Nope.

Hannah & Pilar – Why do I keep wanting to punch people in the throat?  Not Pilar (Peely) since she is more of a Colette than like Hannah, but Hannah?  Spoiled witch.

Overall Thoughts:

This definitely wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be, it was more a mystery with a scarier title.  I found the story very entertaining and I loved “seeing” part of the world that I’ve never been to but hopefully will one day.  This one would definitely appeal to someone looking for a YA equivalent to romantic suspense.  I look forward to starting Ms Alender’s Bad Girls Don’t Die series.  A fun read!

3.75/5

kiki

5 thoughts on “Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender

  1. Estelle (@thatsostelle) September 12, 2013 at 8:49 am Reply

    I love the cover of this one but I was a little apprehensive. Glad to see your review today. Seems like a book I wuold def. check out of the library!

    • Gone Pecan September 12, 2013 at 8:59 am Reply

      I can’t wait to hear what you think!

  2. Kelly (@xoxoKellyNina) September 13, 2013 at 8:55 pm Reply

    Hmm…I may or may not pick this up. Maybe a suspense’y book for around Halloween? Thoughts?

    • Gone Pecan September 18, 2013 at 7:54 am Reply

      Maybe. I would check my library first though. 🙂

  3. bookgoonie September 15, 2013 at 7:17 am Reply

    Halloween read is a good idea. Wish it totally lived up to the expectation. But a good suspense/thriller is hard to find in YA.

Leave a Reply

