Adorkable by Sarra Manning

adorkable

Welcome to the dorkside. It’s going to be a bumpy ride…

Jeane Smith’s a blogger, a dreamer, a dare-to-dreamer, a jumble sale queen, CEO of her own lifestyle brand and has half a million followers on twitter.

Michael Lee’s a star of school, stage and playing field. A golden boy in a Jack Wills hoodie.

They have nothing in common but a pair of cheating exes. So why can’t they stop snogging?

SOURCE:  purchased via Amazon

Story Breakdown:

After finding out their significant others like each other Jeane and Michael find themselves not only both single but constantly arguing.  While this is nothing new for Jeane, Michael can’t believe what Jeane does and how she treats not only him but others.  A sudden  series of run-ins leads to even more arguments that morph into making out sessions.  As their make out sessions increase they try to figure out what exactly they are doing and what could the outcast and popular jock possibly have in common.

Favorite Quote:

* In all honesty I could post the whole book here there were so many great lines but here is one of my top 5.*

And being alone and being lonely were two different things but they felt exactly the same.

Character Highlights:

Jeane – The poster child for “resting bitch face” (it’s a thing, check it out.)  This is a girl after my own heart.  I know we all say we find characters relatable but after reading about not only how others see her but how she sees herself I felt her relatable to the point that I felt like I was reading some of my very own thoughts.  I truly loved her and watching her grow to realize how she could change for the better.

Michael – The Golden Boy. SWOON. I loved the alternating POVs because you honestly saw what he was thinking about when Jeane freaked out and how he reacted differently to the same situation.

Overall Thoughts:

This book has everything you can want.  Dorkiness, swoon-worthy kissing, realistic sexy times,  hot guys hot British guys, and well everything else British.  The alternating POVs absolutely worked for me in this book.  Normally with more than one POV you don’t get the same situation in another’s prospective but a continuation of the scene.  LOVED that.  At times it was hard to read Jeane’s thoughts since I’ve been her, heck I’m still her somewhat.  Thinking one thing and trying NOT to say it because you know its offensive or not “proper”?  Trying to censor yourself for the sake of others?  SIGH.  Watching Jeane grow from someone who is extremely abrasive to a newer better version of herself was enjoyable.

I’m thankful that Daphne told me about Sarra Manning, I guarantee I will be adding all of her books to my TBR list.  This book 100 % lived up to its name, it truly was Adorkable.

5/5

2 thoughts on “Adorkable by Sarra Manning

  1. C October 3, 2013 at 6:48 am Reply

    This sounds completely like my kind of book. Thanks for putting on my radar screen 🙂

    • Gone Pecan October 3, 2013 at 7:07 am Reply

      Of course! I hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

