Game by Barry Lyga

game

I Hunt Killers introduced the world to Jasper (Jazz) Dent, the son of the world’s most infamous serial killer.

When a desperate New York City detective comes knocking on Jazz’s door asking for help with a new case, Jazz can’t say no. The Hat-Dog Killer has the Big Apple–and its police force running scared with no leads. So Jazz and his girlfriend Connie hop on a plane to the big city and get swept up in a killer’s murderous game.

Meanwhile, Jazz’s dad Billy is watching…and waiting.

Source:  egalley via Little, Brown/Netgalley

SPOILER WARNING:

This is a sequel so there will be mention of past events that could be spoilers if you have not picked up book one, I Hunt Killers.

Story Breakdown:

Picking up a few months after the events of I Hunt Killers, Jazz is trying to get back to his somewhat normal life after his infamous father’s escape from prison and continues to wrestle his personal demons about turning out like his father.  After a new serial killer pops up in New York the NYPD ask for his assistance in profiling the Hat Dog Killer in hopes that his unique skills will help them catch a break.  Meanwhile, Jazz’s father is closer than he thinks. . .

Character Highlights:

Jasper/Jazz – The jury is still out on him.  I get he is messed up but I wish we would just learn about his weird dreams and whether they happened!  I do feel bad for him having to live with his father’s crimes for the rest of his life.

Connie- Typical teen girl behavior.  Basically every cliché from a scary movie that a girl does, she does and I want to punch her in the throat for it.  All the same I hope everything works out.

Howie- He really needs to have better taste with the tattoo pics for Jazz.  Overall I still love him though!  He’s hilarious and a great break from all the serial killer talk.

Overall Thoughts:

This was a phenomenal follow-up!  I loved everything about this book and though I liked IHK it was nothing compared to Game.  Since majority of the book is Jazz using his profiling abilities it was like a slightly more vivid episode of Criminal Minds of which I’m a huge fan.  I feel like Jazz is really starting to see he can choose which side to be and I liked not only getting the killers POV but Connie’s as well as Howie’s.

Fans of I Hunt Killers or anyone looking for a suspenseful read will enjoy reading this one.  I know I will be eagerly awaiting the next book!

4.75/5

kiki

4 thoughts on “Game by Barry Lyga

  1. bookgoonie October 2, 2013 at 5:42 am Reply

    Totally loved every moment of this book up to the ending. It was way too predictable. But I’m still hooked & will forge on to capture DoD & DoM.

    • Gone Pecan October 2, 2013 at 8:07 am Reply

      Yeah I figured that would happen at the end but I still loved it. 🙂

      • bookgoonie October 2, 2013 at 11:41 pm

        Loved the themed clues

  2. […] OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES: I Hunt Killers, Game […]

Leave a Reply

