The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

RB“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Source:  traded on YA Book Exchange – I had received a copy via Netgalley but lost my copy when they started making changes. 😦

Story Breakdown:

Raised by a family of physics, Blue has always known what her future holds.  She can never kiss her true love or she will kill him.  Though she has no powers of her own she still helps her family by making their connections to the dead stronger acting like an amplifier.  But this year something is different, Blue sees a spirit and in doing so starts a (crazy) chain of events involving a group of Raven Boys, a mysterious teacher, and secrets her family has kept from her in a beautifully dark tale.  Because for a non-seer to see a spirit?  She is either his true love or his killer.

Character Highlights:

Blue – I love people who grow up in families that are out of the norm and though they are somewhat off they still function as a family unit.  I think I would have liked her to be a bit more upfront with information but other than that I loved her.

Gansey – He has a VERY strange relationship with his friends.  I get they have a  “brothers from another mother” thing happening but they are all so dark and complicated I wanted to climb in the book and “fix” them.  Dang that mothering instinct.

Overall Thoughts:  I’m at a loss for words.  It’s been a long time since a book completely shocks me and has twists that I honestly didn’t see coming.  There is so much dark surrounding this book and it is so lush and beautifully written that you have to take the time to savor reading each page.  Something about Ms Stiefvater’s books grabs hold of me when I’m reading and I don’t want it to let go.  I’ve put off reading this book for so long that I could kick myself.  The only good thing about waiting to read book one is that I already have book two in my possession which I needed after that ending.  WOW.  GO READ THIS BOOK.

5/5

kiki

One thought on “The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. […] The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater                               Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas […]

Leave a Reply

