Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich

16065626

They say that big girls don’t cry. But when the chips are down and the dip is gone, what can you do? Pull up your BIG GIRL PANTIES and change your life.

Holly Brennan didn’t expect to be a widow at thirty-two. She also didn’t expect to be so big. Through her husband Bruce’s diagnosis and death, food was the one thing she could always count on. Now, those extra pounds make flying coach more than a little mortifying-especially since she’s sitting next to Adonis himself, aka Logan Montgomery, a personal trainer to the country’s most famous pro athletes.

Though Holly doesn’t make the grade on his first-impression meter, Logan finds himself intrigued by her sharp wit and keen insight-a welcome change from the beautiful bubble-headed dolls he usually dates-and impulsively offers to get her back in shape. Ready to make at least one positive change in her life, Holly agrees.

To Logan’s (and her own) surprise, Holly turns out to be a natural in the gym. Throwing herself into exercise, the red head with the blazing wit and welcoming smile slims down into a bonafide looker with killer curves-and a new kind of hunger. Soon, the easy intimacy and playful banter of their training sessions lead Logan and Holly into the bedroom where they share their most intense and steamy workouts yet.

But can a man whose whole life depends on looks commit himself to a woman who doesn’t fit his image? Now that Holly’s turning other men’s heads, does she even need Logan anymore? Are they a couple built to last . . . or is this sizzling affair going to burn out fast? (from Goodreads)

Source:  eARC from William Morrow/Edelweiss for an honest review

I loved this book!  I couldn’t put it down.  Holly was a great heroine, smart, funny, self-deprecating.  I immediately liked her and was pulling for her.  I felt for her when she started to fall for Logan because she is decidely not his type, but she was tenacious and a lot of fun to read.

Logan was great, too. His initial impression of Holly quickly changes and they become friends, which is a great place for any romance to start.  I loved that he was attracted to her personality as well as her body, even though she didn’t fit the mold of his past lovers.  There was a lot of depth to Logan, more than even he expected, and he had me pulling for him, as well, to get over his ideals of beauty and perfection and go for something with a little substance, literally and figuratively.

The other characters, Logan’s friends Amanda and Chase, were a hoot.  Funny, sexy.  They definitely added a lot to the story.  Their little subplot was fun.

My issue, and it’s small, with this book was the omnicient POV, which took a little getting used to.  We were treated to, not only Logan & Holly’s POV, but Amanda & Chase, too.  But it worked.  I read this in one sitting and put off my homework to finish it.  It was a lot more sexy than I was expecting because it doesn’t fit into the contemporary romance structure, I guess, so that surprised me, but it didn’t put me off (mainly because I love contemporary romance and don’t mind a little hanky panky).  I will definitely read more by this author.  This book was surprising and fun and had a lot of heart.

4/5

daph

8 thoughts on “Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich

  1. Quinn October 28, 2013 at 7:47 am Reply

    You know I’ve been kind of curious about this book since it came into the library back when it was released. It looks pretty cute, and I’m so glad you liked reading it.

    • Daphne October 28, 2013 at 11:32 am Reply

      I hope you give it a try. it was really cute.

  2. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) October 28, 2013 at 11:29 am Reply

    I’ve seen this book once but I’ve never really taken this author too seriously because of that other very loooong series of hers that I’ve heard isn’t all that great. BUT! You make a great case for this one and I think it sounds really fun. There are mixed reviews on Goodreads but that only makes me want to read it more. Thanks for throwing it up on my radar. I’m sure I’ll get to it rather than looking past it now because of this radar. (:

    • Daphne October 28, 2013 at 11:31 am Reply

      the series you’re thinking of is by Janet Evanovich, and it’s totally understandable because how common is that last name?!?! but I was pleasantly surprised by how great it was. I hope you give it a try.

  3. Ashley October 28, 2013 at 1:23 pm Reply

    I got an ARC of this over the summer, and I am torn about this because I feel the characters were pretty well drawn, and I appreciated that it had a few good (descriptive) sex scenes, which chick-lit tends to leave out. However, while Evanovich did SOME things right in regards to fat-shaming and the emotions surrounding being overweight, overall, it still fell short. Holly still had to be fixed before she could be loved. Even her marriage, when she fat, wasn’t satisfying because she had to settle. It tried to teach a valuable lesson, but it just fell short for me.

    • Daphne October 28, 2013 at 1:46 pm Reply

      I understand your POV, but I think her losing weight and Logan finding her attractive were not completely connected. I think the fact that they came to know each other more lent to his attraction, but the losing weight did help in that regard. But her personality was a big part of his attraction to her. About her “settling” for her husband, I didn’t see it the same as you because I considered her family constantly telling her she was fat and unworthy to be more of a reason for her settling and thinking herself unworthy and unlovable than anything, so I think she was right on the money about that. If Holly wouldn’t have been overweight, but her family still treated her the same way, I think she would have still chosen the same path and “settled”–don’t you? But then how would that have been conducive to her bettering herself? She needed to have something big happen to her, like losing weight, for her to change her self image and her confidence. But I loved it, anyway, the good old Cinderella story.

  4. Ashley October 29, 2013 at 10:45 am Reply

    I agree that the attraction developed as they got to know each other, and I really did like parts of the story. I can’t say that she would have chosen the same path if she hadn’t been fat because being fat was so much of her story and the story Evanovich wanted to tell.

    This is a story about a fat girl. In this book, she gets to be not fat. Even if you lay aside all emotional motivations,the trajectory of her life goes from not as great to a happy ending as her size decreases. I don’t think that Evanovich INTENDED the message to be that fat people don’t get happy endings. I think she probably set out to write a “love at any size” novel. She got a lot of it right and I don’t think this ruined the book for me. It just disappointed me somewhat.

  5. Estelle (@thatsostelle) October 31, 2013 at 10:16 am Reply

    Glad to hear this one is good! I love the title. 🙂

Leave a Reply

