Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London

18114819

Spring Honeycutt wants two things: to ace her sustainable living thesis and to save the environment. Both seem hopelessly unobtainable until her college professor suggests that with a new angle, her paper could be published. Spring swears she’ll do whatever it takes to ensure that happens.

“Whatever it takes,” however, means forming a partnership with the very hot, very privileged, very conceited Henry Knightly.

Henry is Spring’s only hope at publication, but he’s also the über-rich son of a land developer and cash-strapped Spring’s polar opposite. Too bad she can’t help being attracted to the way he pushes her buttons, both politically and physically. As they work on her thesis, Spring finds there’s more to Henry than his old money and argyle sweaters…but can she drop the loud-and-proud act long enough to let him in? Suddenly, choosing between what she wants and what she needs puts Spring at odds with everything she believes in.

Definitely, Maybe in Love is a modern take on Pride and Prejudice that proves true love is worth risking a little pride.  (Goodreads)

Source: eARC from Entangled Publishing for an honest review (thanks so much!)

This must be the 15th or so reinterpretation of Pride and Prejudice that I’ve read, but it’s definitely one of my favorites.

Spring has made herself over for her junior year of college.  She has braids in her hair, dresses like a dirty hippy, and she’s become vegetarian all in order to be taken more seriously in her chosen field, environmentalism.  She’s writing a thesis on sustainability and her advisor advises she get a different perspective in order to make her paper’s point of view more valid.  In the meantime, she and her roommates get a couple of new neighbors across the street.  Though she’s secretly intrigued, she puts Henry firmly in the box of not-her-type because, among other things, he’s rich and seems to be a bit of an entitled jackass.  And then, at a party in true Elizabeth Bennet fashion, she overhears Henry dissing her looks and now he’s on her list. 🙂

Spring’s roommate, Julia, falls for Henry’s roommate and best friend, Dart, and so Spring and Henry are thrown together more than she would like.  At the same time, she’s “dating” Alex, a friend who has a mysterious past with Henry (uh oh, we know where this is going).  Then Henry offers to help her with her thesis and Spring, still fighting her attraction, comes to see him in a new light.

This is Pride and Prejudice as a new adult romance, set in college.  There is so much to love about this book, but I have to say that I think the setting for is interpretation is spot on.  I cannot think of a better time of one’s life for a girl to be Elizabeth Bennet than as a know-it-all 21 year old.  Henry was completely adorable.  Henry and Spring’s relationship made me remember being that age and becoming completely absorbed by another person, the feeling you get when you’re close to them, but you want to become a part of them, and you cannot keep your hands off each other. This book evoked these feelings and memories and that is a big part of why I immediately wanted to reread passages (especially of the camping trip).

I loved the story because it was different even if it followed the Pride and Prejudice formula.  I am not a big fan of New Adult, but this was a great story and I would recommend it.  It had a bit of a Fangirl feel to it, as well.  If this is the direction that New Adult is moving to, I will be reading more.

4/5

Definitely, Maybe in Love can be purchased at Barnes & Noble & Amazon.

daph

6 thoughts on “Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London

  1. Brie (@racblog) October 29, 2013 at 10:00 am Reply

    Oh, yay! I bought this one yesterday, because I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the contemporary YA’s Entagled has been published, and I was curious about their new NA imprint. And now that you liked it, I’m even more excited to read it!

  2. Lucy October 29, 2013 at 1:18 pm Reply

    Just starting this and it sounds so cute! Glad that there are more gems to be found in NA. And you totally got my attention by referencing Fangirl!

  3. bookgoonie November 6, 2013 at 6:22 am Reply

    I think it may have had me at its cover. This sounds so cute. I’ll be looking to make a grab of this one.

  4. Hannah November 7, 2013 at 10:06 am Reply

    Oh I’m so happy you reviewed this one! I’d seen it on a few blogs, but I honestly wasn’t interested in reading. Well, after this review, I immediately bought a copy for my Kindle. I love Pride & Prejudice, so I’m always happy when I hear about fun new versions of it 🙂

  5. […] Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London (gonepecanla.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] Definitely, Maybe in Love by Ophelia London (gonepecanla.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

