Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead

SKIt’s springtime at St. Vladimir’s Academy, and Rose Hathaway is this close to graduation. Since making her first Strigoi kills, Rose hasn’t been feeling quite right. She’s having dark thoughts, behaving erratically, and worst of all… might be seeing ghosts.

As Rose questions her sanity, new complications arise. Lissa has begun experimenting with her magic once more, their enemy Victor Dashkov might be set free, and Rose’s forbidden relationship with Dimitri is starting to heat up again. But when a deadly threat no one saw coming changes their entire world, Rose must put her own life on the line – and choose between the two people she loves most.

Source: borrowed from library

Spoiler Warning:  Please note this is the third book in a series and therefore might contain spoilers from previous books.

Story Breakdown:

The time has come for Rose to begin her Guardian test to see if she is ready to assume her place as Lissa’s Guardian along side her (secret) love Dimitri.  Only things are never easy for Rose and now she is starting to see her friend Mason.  That wouldn’t be a bad thing, if he wasn’t dead.  Something is off at the school and Rose must try to figure out what is going on or there could be dire consequences for everyone she cares about.

Character Highlights:

Dimitri – Eh, I’m still not sold.  I get everyone loves him and I still see it but the whole book is in Rose’s POV so obvs that is a skewed opinion.   I NEED MORE.

Rose – She kind of reverted back to her annoying self from book one for me.  After the way things played out though I’m hoping she loses some of her attitude and does some growing up for book four.  I honestly would love to read a bit more from someone else’s POV at this point.

Overall Thoughts:

I ruined the ending of this book for myself and I’ve been upset ever since.  That’s what I get for looking up the titles on wikipedia and not asking a friend.  Note I didn’t say goodreads because I’m pretty sure I might have ruined the ending to the entire series there.  (I have an issue with reading ahead on blurbs.)  I think that is the only reason I didn’t sit down and read this one in one sitting.  Overall the story was entertaining and the ending would have been a great shocker that would have left me begging for the next book in the series. (Though I already picked it up regardless.)  The series is definitely picking up for the better!

4/5

kiki

One thought on “Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead

  1. bookgoonie November 6, 2013 at 6:26 am Reply

    I’m about where you are in the series. I’m listening to Blood Promise now. Dmitri is a little aloof for me, but I’m going to trust Rose on it. I dig Rose, but most the Maori get on my nerves.

Leave a Reply

