Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

leonardIn addition to the P-38, there are four gifts, one for each of my friends. I want to say good-bye to them properly. I want to give them each something to remember me by. To let them know I really cared about them and I’m sorry I couldn’t be more than I was—that I couldn’t stick around—and that what’s going to happen today isn’t their fault.

Today is Leonard Peacock’s birthday. It is also the day he hides a gun in his backpack. Because today is the day he will kill his former best friend, and then himself, with his grandfather’s P-38 pistol.

But first he must say good-bye to the four people who matter most to him: his Humphrey Bogart-obsessed next-door neighbor, Walt; his classmate Baback, a violin virtuoso; Lauren, the Christian homeschooler he has a crush on; and Herr Silverman, who teaches the high school’s class on the Holocaust. Speaking to each in turn, Leonard slowly reveals his secrets as the hours tick by and the moment of truth approaches.

Source:  egalley via LB/Netgalley

Story Breakdown:

Feeling like he is out of options Leonard Peacock has decided to take his former best friend’s life as well as his own but first wants to give out a few gifts on his birthday to others that meant something to him.  Told over the course of two days we follow Leonard as he meets with each of his friends and slowly see what has cause Leonard to get to this point.

Character Highlights:

Leonard – This is hard to judge.  Leonard is part good guy part villain in this book.  Having had my own issues growing up (though nothing even close to this level) I feel for him and understand him feeling like he can’t talk to or trust anyone.

Overall Thoughts:

Well, this was a sad book.  I found myself several times stopping because I couldn’t see the pages from tearing up.  I truly felt this was an authentic teen voice and saw my teen self in Leonard at times (being female and not having the same issues aside.)  This is definitely a must read for someone needing encouragement on speaking out and up for themselves and others and hopefully opens up the eyes of some that teens want independence but they are still kids and still want and need the security that someone cares and accounts for what they do.

3.5/5

kiki

3 thoughts on “Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

  1. bookgoonie November 6, 2013 at 6:28 am Reply

    This one sounded like a hard one to get through when I read the blurb. I need to time it for when I need a tear-jerker.

  2. […] Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick (gonepecanla.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick (gonepecanla.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

