Top 10 Tuesday #89

ttt

Top 10 Things I’m Thankful For

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday.  I love it even more than Christmas because it’s just so relaxing and it really is more about spending time with family than it is about spending money. So here is a list of what I’m thankful for.

1.  I am very thankful for my friends, both IRL and online.  They’ve been there for me this past year when I moved to a new state and had some health issues and could not find a job.  I don’t know a lot of people here in Texas, but my friends help me to feel like I do. I don’t even have to get dressed to visit with them! 🙂  I am particularly thankful for Kristina, Tee, Christina, Carrie, Sandie, and Candice, who give me something to laugh about everyday. Thanks, girls 🙂

2.  My health.  I’m starting to get to the stage where I’m worried about things falling apart.  I’m doing my best to try to have a healthier lifestyle, but it’s a long journey and though I’m working on it, it’s hard to change habits quickly.

3.  Books.  This goes without saying.  I always have at least one going, more often, though, it’s more than one that I’m reading at a time.  Books are important to me in many ways.  Aside from the feelings they give me, there’s also the fact that it bonds me with other book lovers and makes me a part of this lovely community.

4.  My husband, who is pretty much the only adult I see on a regular basis.  And he rarely gets annoyed when he comes home to leftovers and unfolded clothes because I spent the day reading, playing with the kids, or doing homework (which is probably more often than not).

5.  My church, which we just discovered this summer.  We have never been church going people, but we suddenly felt the need to become a part of something organized and this place fell into our lap. I’m even used to the music, which is something completely different from the Catholic church I attended growing up.  I never really felt a part of that church, but this church is so different. It’s really become a part of us and links us to this place in a way that nothing else does. If we ever move back, I will sorely miss this church and the people there.

6.  My boys, Jaxon and Jonah, who are silly and sweet and messy and loud.  They remind me not to take things too seriously and are always wiling to indulge in my need for loves.  I wish I were a more patient mother, but they feel loved and seem to be growing up to be incredible young men. It’s an honor to have them entrusted to me and I am doing the best I can for them and no one loves them more.

7. I am thankful that I have the opportunity to complete school, which I would not have had if I had been able to find a job immediately.  Sure, I’m still looking for a job and I’m hopeful, but I think there’s a reason for everything and God is watching out for me, so I am trying to be patient as I finish my bachelor’s degree.

This may have become a little sappier than I intended, but I have a lot to be thankful for.  I just need to remember to count my blessings more often. Happy Thanksgiving!

daph

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #89

  1. Candice November 26, 2013 at 9:21 am Reply

    I heart you Daphne! I’m glad that we can make you laugh. I’m super thankful for you as well! 🙂

    • Daphne November 26, 2013 at 9:46 am Reply

      🙂

  2. C November 26, 2013 at 9:43 am Reply

    Thank you for the shout out! I will keep my fingers crossed for you on the job front – there is something perfect out there for you!

    • Daphne November 26, 2013 at 9:46 am Reply

      thanks! i need all the help i can get 🙂

  3. Wickedly Delicious Book Blog November 26, 2013 at 1:20 pm Reply

    Health is a good one. After I hit 30 I seen myself slowly falling apart.

    Mine

  4. A.M.B. November 26, 2013 at 1:43 pm Reply

    Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, too! It hasn’t been commercialized in the way Christmas has been. The focus is on quality time with our loved ones and reflecting on blessings in our lives. I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving!

  5. bookgoonie December 5, 2013 at 5:42 am Reply

    xoxo…I love my online bookish friends. I hope 2014 is a year of better health for us both.

Leave a Reply

