Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

cmAn assassin’s loyalties are always in doubt.
But her heart never wavers.

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king’s contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.

Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king’s bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she’s given a task that could jeopardize everything she’s come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon — forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice. 

Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she most willing to fight for?

Source:  egalley via Bloomsbury/Netgalley

Story Breakdown:

Celaena is now the King’s Champion but it comes with a price.  The king has an agenda that she must figure out before she is forced to commit an act that she would rather die than do, murder innocent people.  As she slowly uncovers information about the King’s plan she also becomes closer to Chaol, and the truth of her family’s history.

Character Highlights:

Celaena – I much preferred her in CoM over Throne of Glass since she felt more like the old Celaena from the novellas.  At times I felt she might have been a bit closed from Chaol but I genuinely felt like she was trying to change which is what is most important.

Chaol – This man can woe me any day!  WHEW.  I like me some Chaol and I’m sure several of you would agree with me on that one.

Dorian – Well I do have to say if anything shocked me it was Dorian’s developments.  I’m definitely liking him more after CoM and hope he continues down this path.

Overall Thoughts:

First let me mention the cover.  HUGE improvement from book one and I thank whoever it was that realized that Celaena needed to be shown as the bad ass that she is!  I know we all talk about how great a series may start but book two almost always throws in some crazy love triangle or twist and lacks all of the excitement of the first to become just a filler book. . .but CoM surpassed Throne by a mile IMO.  I loved everything about the book, was surprised by several plot twists, and throughly enjoyed reading it.  Hands down this is one of the best continuations of a series I’ve read in a long time.  Beautiful.

5/5

kiki

9 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

  1. Sharon (A Book Barbie) December 12, 2013 at 4:30 pm Reply

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK WITH A THOUSAND HEARTS. But yes, I agree with your assessment of everything! It was an excellent continuation, and I can’t wait for the next one!

    • Kristina December 13, 2013 at 7:29 am Reply

      I know! More novellas too!! SIGH

  2. bookgoonie December 18, 2013 at 6:28 am Reply

    Agree. It was fab to the nth degree. Give me more!!!

    • Kristina December 18, 2013 at 8:10 am Reply

      YAY! I love that others love this series as much as me!

  3. Candice December 23, 2013 at 5:53 pm Reply

    Hooray! This is by far one of my favorite series. I actually really preferred this one to the first book and loved the turn Celeana took in it! Was so excited to see her bad-assery shine! Still haven’t read the novellas… need to soon! This series will be getting a re-read next year!

    • Kristina December 30, 2013 at 11:06 am Reply

      Let me know when you read the novellas so we can discuss!!!

  4. […] Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas (gonepecanla.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] OTHER BOOKS IN SERIES: Throne of Glass Novellas, Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight […]

  6. […] Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater                               Crown of Midnight by Sarah J […]

Leave a Reply

