Bout of Books 9.0 Sign Up & Goals Post

bout

Well it’s that time again.  It’s time to get serious, buckle down, and clean up some TBR stacks!!!  Want to join in?  Go visit the Bout of Books blog and sign up!!

Let’s see what the plan is this go round. . .

Ok if the last two bouts taught me anything its that I start strong and then basically don’t finish anything.  I’m trying to be better with reading and catching up (resolutions people!) and I’m starting to see a light at the end of the egally tunnel though it is still a bit farther away than I would like it to be.  Following Daphne’s past approach I will be making a list of books to pick from since I don’t know what my reading mood will be when the bout starts.  My goal right now would be to read 6 books, 2 from each grouping below but we all know I’m a horrible planner so I’d be happy with 6 total regardless. 😛

End of Series Options – I tend to read all of the books in a series and then stop when there is one left.  I just don’t want to give up the world and I’m terrified they won’t end the way I want them too. . .

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson

Gates of Paradise by Melissa de la Cruz

Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

Just One Year by Gayle Forman

Sever  by Lauren Destefano

New to me – I need to start branching out as well.  Here are a few that have been climbing my TBR list but I haven’t quite gotten to yet.

Scarlet by AC Gaughen

Velveteen by Daniel Marks

Unbreak My Heart by  Melissa C. Walker

Such Sweet Sorrow by Jenny Trout

The Caged Graves by Dianne K. Salerni

Edelweiss – I’ve cleaned up my netgalley for the most part (I still have a ways to go, I’m right at that 80% so I mark that as a win) but I’ve totally slacked on the Edelweiss side.  Here’s a perfect chance to jump start that train.

Crash & Burn by Michael Hassan

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Avalon by Mindee Arnett

The Buring Sky by Sherry Thomas

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

kiki

Now on to Daphne’s list!!

Never Have I Ever by Katie Heaney

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaria

Going Rogue by Robin Benway

Another Little Piece of My Heart by Tracey Martin

Love a Little Sideways by Shannon Stacey

Some Kind of Wonderful by Beth Ciotta

Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill

I’m attempting to read five of these during the bout.  Wish me luck!!

daph

Are you going the bout?  Let us know!  We want to chat and this has been a fun experience in the past to find new bloggin buddies. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Bout of Books 9.0 Sign Up & Goals Post

  1. Ellie @ Spiced Latte December 30, 2013 at 6:39 pm Reply

    I’m actually pretty bad on Edelweiss as well, I need to start cleaning it out. Good luck with your goal!

  2. Mandi Kaye January 2, 2014 at 8:37 pm Reply

    80% on Netgalley? I’m so jealous! Almost my entire BoB list this time is Netgalley to help catch me up. You’ve got great books and great goals!

    Good luck and happy reading!

    • Gone Pecan January 2, 2014 at 8:38 pm Reply

      Thanks!! I’ve really been trying to clean it up. Good luck to you too!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. Annie January 3, 2014 at 1:56 pm Reply

    The Bitter Kingdom, Scarlet, Avalon and The Burning Sky are all in my TBR pile. Honestly I don’t know where to start next week, and none of these books are short! Not that I’d want to the conclusion to Rae Carson’s wonderful trilogy to be short… Good luck next week guys! 🙂

  4. Candice January 4, 2014 at 10:59 am Reply

    Great goals ladies! I like how you both made a list of books to pick from; I should adopt your methods! I too start strong and then slack off after a few days. But, during this Bout of Books, I’ll actually still be off work so I could maybe actually win this time! 🙂

  5. Laura (@xbooksmartie) January 5, 2014 at 12:04 pm Reply

    Awesome books, you guys!! And I’d love to do that list-to-pick-from thing, too…just that I’m so indecisive that it’d take me the entire week just to decide which book to start with 😀 And I totally agree, the start is the easy part – it always gets difficult to keep motivation up towards the end…

  6. Angie January 5, 2014 at 10:21 pm Reply

    Good job on clearing up your Netgalley!! I really need to do that.. but… humm.. I have other books on my list. Love the lists you use!! Great idea! The start is easy.. by the weekend I am like.. eh….
    Angie
    Bout of Books Goals & Updates

  7. Kelsey January 6, 2014 at 8:22 am Reply

    I still have some series books to finish too, including the first two on your list Kristina. Scarlet was really good though, if you happen to get to that one.
    Daphne, I haven’t read any on your list but have heard of most of them.
    Good luck this week you two!

  8. Danie @ The Bookish Brunette January 6, 2014 at 3:22 pm Reply

    Kristina – I’m working really hard to get my Netgalley and Edelweiss books caught up. I’m nowhere near 80%, so hopefully this readathon will help. Out of your lists, I’ve read Sever and Requiem, and really enjoyed them. I’ve also read Not A Drop to Drink, but it wasn’t one of my favorites. Hope you like it better than I did!

    Daphne – We Were Liars was FANTASTIC. Such a beautiful book! Can’t wait to hear what you think.

    Good luck to you both!

    -Danie
    http://www.bookish-brunette.com

Leave a Reply

