Mini Review: Brooke by Veronica Rossi

brookeThe only fight she can’t win is the one for Perry’s heart. Following the stunning climax in Through the Ever Night, the Tides have been forced to seek shelter from the Aether storms in a dismal, secluded cave. But Brooke’s memories of the cave go back much further, to when she and Perry used to come here together. That was before Perry fell in love with Aria and before Vale’s dealings with the Dwellers altered the course of the Tides forever.

Now, with her sister back from a haunting year in captivity and Aria lying unconscious in the sick bay, Brooke struggles to put the pieces of her life back together. Without Perry, who is she? And what is her role in this frightening new world? As these questions swirl about her, an old threat to the Tides resurfaces, and Brooke is forced to put the lives of her people before her own. But in taking this step outside of herself, Brooke may finally discover what she truly wants.

Source:  ebook purchased via Amazon

Overall Thoughts:

I’m not going to lie to you. . . Brooke has never been my favorite character BUT she is a part of this world Ms Rossi created therefore she can’t be all bad right?  RIGHT!  Minus the romantic Goldilocks and the Three Bears vibe this gave me I loved seeing her working through her issues with Perry and trying to move on not because she needs to but because she wants to, for herself.  I also (obviously) loved another peek at this world I’ve grown to love and while I’m beyond excited to read Into the Still Blue I’m sad that this series is ending.

5/5

kiki

7 thoughts on “Mini Review: Brooke by Veronica Rossi

  1. C January 6, 2014 at 7:47 am Reply

    AH! I just finished this last night 🙂 I didn’t love it, but appreciated the insight and closure Rossie gave us.

  2. Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books) January 6, 2014 at 10:31 am Reply

    I feel the same way — Brooke is one of my least favorite characters, but I love this series so much that I’ll probably still read her story. Thanks for letting me know about it!

    • Kristina January 7, 2014 at 2:53 pm Reply

      Perry was there for a bit. 😛

  3. Laura (@xbooksmartie) January 7, 2014 at 1:02 pm Reply

    I can only agree! Rossi’s novellas were some of the first I’ve ever read – and I immediately wanted more! I think there’s just something so deep in a story that is shorter…because the feelings are not stretched over 300 pages, but only 60! And it definitely makes you care about the minor characters more! Any suggestions for other good novellas?

    • Kristina January 7, 2014 at 2:54 pm Reply

      The Throne of Glass novellas were awesome too!

  4. Brittany January 23, 2014 at 3:47 pm Reply

    I’m glad you loved it! I really did too. I know a lot of people didn’t like Brooke, but you just knew there was more under the surface!

  5. […] Other Reviews in the Series:  Under the Never Sky, Roar & Liv, Through the Ever Night, Brooke […]

Leave a Reply

