My “Roomies” Story and Giveaway!

17573559

In honor of the release of Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando, we are doing a giveaway through Little, Brown Publishers of the novel.  Roommates is something that is generally a universal thing that most people understand.  I have had a few in my life, including my sister growing up, a couple in college and one in “real life”.  The ones in college were okay, nothing too weird or annoying about them, but the last roommate I had was a friend of a friend, and I don’t recommend moving in with someone you barely know.

I just moved to the larger city from a small town, living with my mom.  It was my first “adult” apartment. My new roommate, who I will call “Kristen,” was a friend of a friend and we just both happened to be trying to find a roommate at the same time.  We hit it off and soon moved into a townhouse, though I spent the majority of my time at my boyfriend’s apartment.

I will be the first to admit that I am a total mess, but everything was in my room, not scattered all over the house. And though I may have had clothes and shoes all over the floor, I knew exactly where everything was.  More than once I came home to find something to discover it was not there and Kristen had “borrowed” it, remarking how weird it was that I knew exactly where something was in my “mess.”

The cool thing is, that while we had different body types and couldn’t borrow each other’s clothes, we had the same shoe size (which is weird because I have BIG feet).  We even had the same pair of boots, though hers were more worn in.  After a year of living together, I decided to move in with my boyfriend, so we had to pack up.  We did this separately, at our own pace.  When I went to pack, I noticed that my boots, which had been in my closet, were missing.  I called Kristen to ask about them and she said that her cousins helped her to pack and must have thought that my boots were hers…*side eyes.* Yeah. Okay. The boots, which were in my closet in my room, were mistaken for her own.  I never did get those boots back 😦

So that’s my “Roomies” story.  I have to say that I think I got off pretty easily.

Take a look at 19 reasons why living alone is the best on Buzzfeed.

giveaway

Little, Brown is giving away a Roomie survival kit/gift pack including earplugs, home spa essentials, a signed copy of the book, a special note from the authors, and other fun things—all packed in a shower caddy for one lucky winner (US only, sorry!).

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sara & Tara will be going on tour for Roomies, and you can see them!

daph

3 thoughts on “My “Roomies” Story and Giveaway!

  1. bn100 January 13, 2014 at 10:04 pm Reply

    had one who took my stuff

  2. ablightedone January 16, 2014 at 10:24 pm Reply

    I have had 3 roommates I didn’t get along with-one of them took things without asking and lost them and lied about everything! One would have screaming matches on the phone with her father at 3 am when I was trying to sleep, and she got mad about every little thing. My last roommate was my “best friend” and she was really messy, one time she left an empty popcorn bag on the table for 3 weeks, and I was determined not to clean up her mess. I have poor judgment when choosing roommates! Fun giveaway!

  3. Ashley @The Quiet Concert January 17, 2014 at 6:46 pm Reply

    I have had my fair share of bad roommates but on the flip side, my freshman college roommate is still one of my best friends 7 years later 🙂 Though the missing things roommate has happened to me.. it is awful!

Leave a Reply

