Poison Dance by Livia Blackburne

poison danceJames is skilled, efficient, and deadly, a hired blade navigating the shifting alliances of a deteriorating Assassin’s Guild.  Then he meets Thalia, an alluring but troubled dancing girl who offers him a way out—if he’ll help her kill a powerful nobleman.  With the Guild falling apart, it just might be worth the risk. But when you live, breathe, and love in a world that’s forever flirting with death, the slightest misstep can be poison.

Source:  ebook provided by the author for review

Overall Thoughts:

After discovering the upcoming Midnight Thief when a fellow blogger added it to good reads I was more than excited when Ms Blackburne emailed me asking if I would like to read the prequel novella.  She gave fair warning it was a self-published title but after reading the blurb for MT I was anxious to get a sneak peek at this world.  As far as novellas go they are a hit or miss for me.  Though most of the time they don’t add to the series for me they do give you a glimpse at a certain character you might want to know a bit more about or a certain event but often I find they fill rushed and you can tell they are just fillers.  Not Poison Dance.  If this is a self-published title I’m doubly excited to see how Midnight Thief turns out.  This story read quickly and was engaging and I look forward to reading more of this world soon.  Based on what I’ve read I think fans of Maas’s Throne of Glass and/or Snyder’s Healer Series (both of which I LOVE) will enjoy this world.  Pick it up before MT releases in a few months!!!

4/5

kiki

2 thoughts on “Poison Dance by Livia Blackburne

  1. Heather@The Flyleaf Review January 27, 2014 at 12:55 pm Reply

    Ooh, I really want to read this one too because I am so excited for Midnight Thief! Your’s is second review that was overwhelmingly positive so that makes me very, very happy:) I generally like reading novellas and prequels–I have had a good experience with them for the most part–in some cases they really enhanced my reading of the subsequent novel that followed:)

    I see you’re reading Winger right now. I’m reading Grasshopper Jungle by Smith–my first book by him–and it is very, very different!

    • Kristina January 27, 2014 at 12:59 pm Reply

      I really enjoyed it so I think you will too! I’m only about a chapter in on Winger but everyone has been raving about it. I really want to read GJ too!! Can’t wait to see what you think!

Leave a Reply

