Blog Tour: The Unbound by Victoria Schwab

unbound

Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books. Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Last summer, Mackenzie Bishop, a Keeper tasked with stopping violent Histories from escaping the Archive, almost lost her life to one. Now, as she starts her junior year at Hyde School, she’s struggling to get her life back. But moving on isn’t easy — not when her dreams are haunted by what happened. She knows the past is past, knows it cannot hurt her, but it feels so real, and when her nightmares begin to creep into her waking hours, she starts to wonder if she’s really safe.

Meanwhile, people are vanishing without a trace, and the only thing they seem to have in common is Mackenzie. She’s sure the Archive knows more than they are letting on, but before she can prove it, she becomes the prime suspect. And unless Mac can track down the real culprit, she’ll lose everything, not only her role as Keeper, but her memories, and even her life. Can Mackenzie untangle the mystery before she herself unravels?

Source:  egalley via netgalley/publisher (purchased finished copy as well, SUPPORT YOUR AUTHORS!)

Story Breakdown:  Picking up a few weeks after the ending of The Archived, Mac is struggling with trying to maintain her Keeper status, starting at a new school, and dealing with nightmares about her attack that are causing serious sleep deprivation.  If all of that wasn’t enough people start to disappear and the only thing they have in common??  Her.

Character Highlights:

Mac – It is hard to watch her relationship with her parents.  I can completely relate to people reacting differently to grief and it breaks my heart that they want to hold on to her so much that it might in turn push her further away.

Wesley – My only issue with him this go?  He wasn’t around enough.  As far as I’m concerned he is adorable.

Agatha – I want to punch her in the throat.

Ronald – My favorite.  He’s the best!

Overall Thoughts:

I’ve been extremely pumped for this book ever since I finish The Archived so when I saw on twitter the tour was open for The Unbound I jumped at the chance and luckily I was chosen to participate.  I know everyone worries about book two (myself more than most) but that wasn’t an issue this go.  I felt that the book went a completely different direction from the first but in a good way.  I truly sensed Mac’s feelings and love that she seemed both infinitely stronger yet even more broken if that is possible.  There was action, romance, and just enough left open that I need to know how things will move on.  If you loved The Archived, love Ms Schwab, or just paranormal with a twist this is a series you should check out STAT.

4.75/5

kiki

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Unbound by Victoria Schwab

  1. bookgoonie February 7, 2014 at 6:32 am Reply

    I loved Near Witch. I so need to find time for her beautiful writing style.

    • Kristina February 7, 2014 at 7:30 am Reply

      YES!!!

  2. Nicole @ The Quiet Concert February 14, 2014 at 1:05 pm Reply

    Really excited to read this one! I loved The Archived! The fact that this one went in a different direction makes me curious/nervous/excited – I don’t know what the think! But pretty sure I’ll like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

