Top Ten Tuesday # 94

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the lovlies over at The Broke and The Bookish.

Today’s Topic:  Top Ten Tuesday REWIND! (Pick from previous topics that you want to do again or may have missed.) So I quickly decided to revisit last week’s topic because I’ve been a bit busy at work lately and haven’t been able to participate as much as I would like so I missed this one.

Top Ten Reasons I Love Being A Blogger/Reader

1.  The Books – I don’t mean ARCs.  Well ok, part of it is the ARCs.  I know getting mail is pretty awesome and such but the main point I’m trying to make is being in the blogger world has opened me to so many books I honestly don’t know if I would have ever tried to read and/or found without fellow bloggers.

2.  Mail – Speaking of mail I cannot describe the delight in getting so many packages in the mail.  Whether its books from publishers, swapping with fellow bloggers, or just books I’ve ordered on recommendations I can tell you the UPS and USPS guys are starting to get tired of coming to my house.

3.  Friends/other bloggers – I’ve grown closer not only to my co-blogger but I now have several other blogger buds out in the world that I know I can always chat with and I have someone to visit if I’m ever in their area. There are several of you ladies that I know I would love to live near so I’d have a friend to visit with IRL for book chats.

4.  Freedom to be creative – This is a more general topic.  I don’t mean one specific thing but several.  TTTs??  Great way to have bookish discussions.  But I also have my gals in the SC which gives me the opportunity to be creative on GP’s additions to each book we feature.  That feature lead me to want to start a new feature with my co-blogger Daph.  Not only that but I now toy around with ideas for possible books I could write.  Though there is a high probability they will never come to be our blog has opened my eyes so to speak to so many options other than just reviewing a book.

5.  Exploring genres – Before the blog and really kicking my reading into overdrive I sort of pigeonholed myself in very specific reading areas.  Now?  I’m reading fantasy more than I ever thought I would and honestly it has become my go to which I love because fantasy can be ANYTHING.

6.  Motivation to read MORE – Goodreads challenges?  Read-along?  YEP!!  I’ve definitely increased the quantity of books read in a year and I’ve let go of watching so much tv (but NOT Big Bang Theory!)

7.  Connecting with friends and family IRL – I’m now the go to with friends and family for almost all questions book related and I love it.  Who doesn’t want to talk books?  Heck, I’ve even helped on English homework.

8.  Authority to DNF books – Before blogging I always finished a book, series, author, not matter if I was in love or not.  Now with so many doors open to me in the reading world I feel free to stop if I’m not blown away regardless if its in the middle of a series or not.

9.  Bookish events – I haven’t been to any as of yet due to distance and work but I’m hoping to go to Teen Book Con with Daphne in April.  Before blogging I didn’t even realize there were events like these.

10.  Finding favorite authors – Right now this is specifically:  Rainbow Rowell, Marissa Meyer, Leigh Bardugo, and Veronica Rossi.  Their books are beyond anything I could hope to create and I’m in awe of their talent.

kiki

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday # 94

  1. AngWrites February 25, 2014 at 9:20 am Reply

    Fun theme! And ARCs aren’t too shabby. 😉

    After flailing about on the interweb for five years (both secretly & not so secretly) I’ve got to say my favorite thing about blogging is the community. I’ve meet some of my bestest friends online & been able to connect with people who love books & fangirl as much as I do. It’s purdy fantastic.

    Great post. LONG LIVE GONE PEACAN.

  2. Emily @ Oh Magic Hour February 25, 2014 at 9:47 am Reply

    Great list! I see so many original ones on here, too! I especially agree about the new genres – I read so many different things now that I am active on Twitter and see people book-flailing about something I might not have even tried before. 🙂

    • Gone Pecan February 25, 2014 at 11:03 am Reply

      I wasn’t too sure about twitter when we started but I really like it now too!

  3. Stephanie H. February 25, 2014 at 10:58 am Reply

    Kristina, what a great list! I also like that since becoming a blogger, I have found so many books that I probably would not have known about before. And it is so nice finding some people online that I can get to know that have the same love and passion for reading as I do!

    • Gone Pecan February 25, 2014 at 11:03 am Reply

      YES! I LOVE TALKING BOOKS!!! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. […] Top Ten Tuesday # 94 […]

  5. Quinn February 25, 2014 at 5:26 pm Reply

    I agree with ALL OF THESE! I love that since I started blogging, I started reading more widely and more often than before blogging. And I was reading a lot before blogging, too. And talking to others, through my blog, about books is definitely the best thing ever.

  6. lissiet February 25, 2014 at 6:13 pm Reply

    I love getting mail too! Great list!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

  7. Candice February 26, 2014 at 5:40 am Reply

    Yay! I’m glad we (SC) helps you to get your creative juices flowing! I honestly think you ladies are the most inspirational group of friends I’ve ever had. I need to be better at SENDING mail, but I love getting it, even if it’s just a card from a book/blog friend saying howdy-do! (oh man… cannot believe I just typed that. I think being in the Eastern Time Zone has incrased my cheese level!) 🙂

  8. bookgoonie February 26, 2014 at 6:29 am Reply

    Great list. The right to DNF is still hard for me, but I did it the other day. It felt good to just move on.

  9. Sandie @Teen Lit Rocks February 26, 2014 at 9:35 pm Reply

    Hooray! I’m so glad we’ve become bloggy buddies, and I wish that we lived closer too! You could come to the movies with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

