Top Ten Tuesday # 95

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by the ladies of The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Topic:  Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

I honestly was going to do a little write up on each but some of them are so embarassing I don’t know what to tell you!  I guess all I can say is don’t hate me??

1.  Melina Marchetta – Ok so I’ve read one of her books but I’m adding her because I haven’t read Jellicoe Road which I know is “the book”.

2.  Neal Shusterman

3.  Neil Gaiman

4.  Sarah Dessen

5. Jenny Han

6.  Katie McGarry

7.  Juliet Marillier

8.  Tamora Pierce

9.  Laini Taylor

10.  Andrew Smith

kiki
14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday # 95

  1. Cora @ Tea Party Princess March 4, 2014 at 3:38 am Reply

    I have to admit to having a few in common. Great list 🙂

    • Gone Pecan March 5, 2014 at 8:37 am Reply

      thanks! It was a hard list to make this go.

  2. bookgoonie March 4, 2014 at 5:53 am Reply

    Melina is my biggie. I said I wouldn’t let 2013 escape without rectifying the literary slight. Saving Francesca actually sits on my bed stand. 2014!!! Let’s do this 😉

    • Gone Pecan March 5, 2014 at 8:38 am Reply

      Maybe we can do some readalongs? I have all of her books except Alibrandi which is the one I read.

      • bookgoonie March 11, 2014 at 10:21 am

        I haven’t done a good read-along in a while.

  3. loveatfirstpage March 4, 2014 at 6:18 am Reply

    You know how I feel about Marchetta…
    Katie McGarry is another favorite of mine. The others I haven’t read either, but I plan to binge read the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series.

    • Gone Pecan March 5, 2014 at 8:38 am Reply

      I really need to get on the Dofs&B soooon!

  4. Emily @ Oh Magic Hour March 4, 2014 at 8:06 am Reply

    Oh, girl, you have a LOT of good reading ahead of you!

    I freaking LOVE Marchetta – basically everything I’ve read by her has been an instant new favorite, 5-star level read. And Jellicoe Road tops the pile. I just read Unwind by Shusterman and enjoyed it, but it was also TOUGH to read; just unnerving. For Gaiman I think a good starting point is The Graveyard Book or Stardust.

    Marillier is probably one of my favorites as well – I love the Daughter of the Forest series. So beautiful! I also really enjoyed Daughter of Smoke and Bone and think you should definitely pick that up when the third one comes out.

    Pierce is really great – make sure to start with Alanna (I didn’t and accidentally spoiled myself)! Her books are shorter and feel like quick reads – I pick her up sometimes when I’m in a reading slump because I know I’ll be able to zoom through. And Winger… no words.

    • Gone Pecan March 5, 2014 at 8:39 am Reply

      I actually picked up Winger from the library but brought it back bc someone was waiting on it and I’m so far behind. I also bought Shadowfell so I’m definitely planning on starting some of these this year!

  5. […] Top Ten Tuesday # 95 […]

  6. Elizabeth March 4, 2014 at 10:29 am Reply

    I’ve never read Jellicoe Road either… and I have little desire to. I just don’t have the patience to not know what is going on for 100+ pages. What kills me is that I haven’t even heard of some of these authors (but maybe I would have heard of their books?)…

    • Gone Pecan March 5, 2014 at 8:40 am Reply

      Awww. Who are you questioning? Email me and we can chat!

  7. Quinn March 4, 2014 at 12:33 pm Reply

    I haven’t read any of Melina Marchetta, either. And I mean that I truly haven’t read any! I should have included her on my TTT today. I also haven’t read Tamora Pierce. I really need to get on that one.

    BUT you should totally give Katie McGarry a try. I LOVE her books.

    • Gone Pecan March 5, 2014 at 8:41 am Reply

      I think I’ve held out on McGarry bc contemp is really not my fav genre so I’m extremely picky there.

Leave a Reply

