Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

GMWhy be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

Source:  purchased

Story Breakdown:

Ismae is a daughter of Death himself.  Born to be his handmaiden and serve her father through exacted vengeance on those that betray their country she becomes involved in the political intrigue of court to find out who is conspiring against the Duchess.

Favorite Quote: 

The heat of Duval’s hand passes through the silk of my sleeve all the way down to my marrow.

Character Highlights:

Ismae – I loved that I felt like as I read I could see her changing before my eyes on the page.  Talk about character development!

Duval – WOWZA.  Never has someone doing stitches and wrapping a wound ever seems so hot.  Just enough swoon that I got butterflies when I read about him.

Overall Thoughts:

Boy did I have trouble reading this book.  Please don’t misunderstand that to mean I didn’t enjoy it.  In fact, I LOVED this book.  It was a timing issue only.  I mean who doesn’t want to read a book about nun assassins?!  (HINT:  Answer is no one because if you don’t then you just don’t know what you are missing yet.)

GM wasn’t overrun with romance but like I said about Duval himself, had just enough to make you swoon.  The writing was breathtaking, the setting was vivid, and most of all I remembered everything about this story.  It didn’t matter if I stopped for an hour, a day, or a month I knew where I left off and what had happened so far.  To me this is one of the highest compliments I can pay a book.  I’m eagerly awaiting Dark Triumph which I should be starting this week. 🙂

5/5

kiki

11 thoughts on “Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

  1. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook March 17, 2014 at 8:02 am Reply

    I seriously need to make time to read Grave Mercy. I keep hearing how amazing it is, and how wonderful Dark Triumph is. I’m glad you liked it.

    • Gone Pecan March 17, 2014 at 8:06 am Reply

      I did! I think you will too so def make some time soon! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. Elizabeth March 18, 2014 at 3:52 pm Reply

    I liked Grave Mercy more than I thought I would. I need to track down the Dark Triumph audiobook… I am curious to see some of the other characters in this series. I suspect Ismae will not be my favorite.

  3. Living a Goddess Life March 19, 2014 at 9:10 pm Reply

    Good to know! This one definitely intrigues me. 🙂

  4. Bonnie @ For the Love of Words March 20, 2014 at 11:32 am Reply

    So glad you loved this one! I was blown away at how awesome this book was. Dark Triumph is equally fantastic so I hope you love that one too.

    • Gone Pecan March 20, 2014 at 12:09 pm Reply

      ME TOO!! Hoping to start tomorrow!!!!

  5. loveatfirstpage April 2, 2014 at 9:29 am Reply

    Glad you loved this! Like you said, there’s not a romance, but what’s there is plenty affectionate and steamy. I liked Dark Triumph even more, so I can’t wait to see what you think. 🙂

    • Kristina April 2, 2014 at 9:56 am Reply

      I started it and so far its a bit sad but action wise def picked up!

  6. […] into this book I was told be several other bloggers that out of Grave Mercy & Dark Triumph that DT was by far their favorite.  As with GM, Dark Triumph had romantic […]

  7. […] IN SERIES:  Grave Mercy & Dark […]

Leave a Reply

