Top Ten Tuesday # 97

ttt

 

Top 10 Tuesday is brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s Topic:  Top Ten Things On My Bookish Bucket List 

 

1.  I have always wanted to write a book.  There, I’ve said it.  I have been wanting to since I was about 13 years old.  I used to write short stories as a kid, but now I don’t know if I have it in me for an original story that other people will want to read, let alone more than one story.  If I were ever to write a full length novel, it would probably kill me.  I also would really love to write kids stories.  I think I would have many more of these in me and I think being a children’s author would be great fun.

2.  I would like to take another creative writing class. I took one in college, several years ago, but I dropped out for some reason and I cannot remember why.  My prof was a pretty disgusting man (with a skin condition) and was a nasty namedropper, so that must have been why.  Not because I was probably afraid to air my writing in a critical setting.

3.   I would like to go to BEA or some other major bloggy/publishing event.

4.   Meet other bloggers.  There are some ladies out there that I would love to sit down to a meal with, or some coffee, or some wine…Our appreciation for the same books must mean that we’re compatible in the most basic and awesome way, right?

5.  Retire to work in a bookstore.   That’s the ideal.  I could meet authors, talk books for hours a day & not get fired for reading on the job. “Is this heaven?” “No, it’s a bookstore.”

6.  Go to Hogwarts.  That would make the best vacation.  I need to get my kids as obsessed with HP as I am.  They’re still a little young.

7. Read all of Jane Austen and more classics.  Jane has only a few books out and I’ve read two, but I want to complete all of her books & I’m looking forward to falling in love with her other heroes as much as I am with Darcy.

…that’s all I got. 🙂

daph

~*~

Obvs some of our bucket lists crossover but I’m still going to list mine here. 😛

1.  Meet other bloggers.  You know how many I’ve met in my almost three years blogging?  One and she’s my co-blogger.  This makes me sad but unfortunately I don’t live in a high blogger populated area.
2.  Go to a bigger blogger/bookish event.  I’m not talking about BEA because that is a whole other animal (which I will mention later) but maybe a festival?  I’m hoping to make Teen Book Con next month which will hopefully knock out both 1 & 2 on this bucket list. (Are you going?  Let’s chat!)
3.  Join or start a book club.  It’s so sad to not have close IRL friends to chat with about books.  Sure, I love chatting with other bloggers and authors.  I text with Daphne and a few other friends about books all the time too.  But to have friends to meet up with once in a while to chat?  Who get my love of books?  This would be priceless to me.
4.  Clear off my book shelf.  Ok I don’t want them to be empty but I’ve had some of these books for YEARS.  Books I was dying to get my hands on and now they are gathering dust.  This shouldn’t happen.
5.  FINISH ALL THE SERIES.  I’ve always had trouble letting go of characters so I tend to hold off on reading series finales for a while but its gotten a bit out of hand lately according to goodreads.  I’d like to clean these up so I can start new ones!
6.  Go to BEA.  Last year I was really hoping to go but I didn’t sell my house in time and was actually in the middle of closing while BEA was going on so that was a no go.  This year I was sure it was going to happen but my dog deciding otherwise when she required surgery.  I’m living vicariously through my friends so make it good ladies!
7.  Meet Rainbow Rowell, Leigh Bardugo, and Veronica Rossi.  To say I love their books is an understatement.  I have no doubt I will ugly cry if I ever get to meet them.
8.  Read a few of the classics. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve watched Pride & Prejudice or Sense & Sensibility.  I need to actually read the books because as a reader I know I’m missing out.
9.  Clean up netgalley and Edelweiss. I’ve actually been making a lot of progress on netgalley but at the sacrifice of Edelweiss being at a standstill.  I’m hoping to get one completely cleared up and then switch gears to the other.  I think it is safe to say I’ve learned my lesson about requesting too many egalleys.
10.  Plan a bookish trip.  I’m not talking festivals or BEA.  I’m talking touring locations that inspired some of my favorite books, where the authors wrote, or the homes of some of the greats.  I’m always amazed by what people can create so to see where it all began?  That seems magical in itself to me.
kiki

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday # 97

  1. Alison March 25, 2014 at 7:50 am Reply

    I’m with you Kristina, a book club would be awesome. It’s nice to have internet friends to talk books with but sometimes you want to *see* the people you’re chatting with.

    Take me to Hogwarts with you, Daphne! 😉

  2. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook March 25, 2014 at 11:16 am Reply

    Oh yeah, I can totally relate about learning my lesson when it comes ot Edelweiss and Netgalley. I’m way more selective these days about requesting any egalleys!

    I’m lucky enough to go to BEA this year, and I’m excited, but also terrified! It seems like a really intense few days.

    Daphne – yes let’s go to Hogwarts! That would be the MOST AMAZING THING EVER. Well, besides meeting J.K. Rowling anyway!

    And I’ve only read two Jane Austen books, too – Emma and Pride and Prejudice.

  3. Stephanie H. March 25, 2014 at 1:24 pm Reply

    Love both of your bucket lists! I want to get my daughters to love Harry Potter as much as I do too, but they are also young. Having a book club would be awesome. I would love to meet some book friends, most of the people I talk books with are all online.

  4. Rebecca Scaglione - Love at First Book March 25, 2014 at 6:05 pm Reply

    I love these and I think that meeting other bloggers is awesome, too. I love how this is a Top 10 Tuesday! You may also want to link up to the original Bookish Bucket List, too!

  5. Ashley @The Quiet Concert March 28, 2014 at 10:12 pm Reply

    Yes! Harry Potter world was great 🙂 Definitely wait until they finish the new additions though, the are adding a Hogwarts Express ride between the two parks.

Leave a Reply

