Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

dt

When Sybella arrived at the doorstep of St Mortain half mad with grief and despair the convent were only too happy to offer her refuge – but at a price. The sisters of this convent serve Death, and with Sybella naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, she could become one of their most dangerous weapons.

But her assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to the life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. But when Sybella discovers an unexpected ally she discovers that a daughter of Death may find something other than vengeance to live for…

SOURCE:  purchased, egalley via publisher/netgalley

 

 

Story Breakdown:

Picking up where Grave Mercy left off, we join Sybella who is undercover to gain information in D’Albret’s holding as she is forced to participate in and commit horrible acts against Brittany’s people who are loyal to their Duchess as D’Albret seeks to rule.  Her plans are slightly altered when Beast, a firm supporter of the Duchess, is kidnapped during battle and she is directed to save him from D’Albret’s clutches.

Character Highlights:

Sybella – Oh this broken girl.  I wanted to hug her so badly.  I don’t think any reader could not want to help/root for her after knowing the life she had to live.

Beast – Probably one of my top male MCs in a long time.  I loved the fact that he was portrayed as both a warrior and a gentle giant.  To be so accepting and forgiving brought tears to my eyes more than once.

D’Albret – If you want to talk villains this is your man.  WOW.  The hate I felt towards him cannot be out into words.  This man deserves a long, drawn-out painful ending.

Overall Thoughts:

Coming into this book I was told be several other bloggers that out of Grave Mercy & Dark Triumph that DT was by far their favorite.  As with GM, Dark Triumph had romantic elements but was mainly swoon which is something I actually prefer.  It is much darker (huge plus) and more character driven but as with GM it was a beautifully written book that has earned a spot on my “keeps” shelf so that I will be able to read it again and again.  Sybella was by far one of the most hurt (but always somewhat hopefully) MCs I’ve ever read and look forward to any time we might get to spend with her in Mortal Heart, which frankly cannot get here soon enough for me.  Gorgeous.

5/5

 

kiki

6 thoughts on “Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

  1. Nicole @ The Quiet Concert April 18, 2014 at 10:18 pm Reply

    Gah these books! They are so dark and heartbreaking but so hopeful and enthralling at the same time. I also liked Dark Triumph better but truthfully I LOVED both of them. I cannot WAIT for Mortal Heart but I will be sad to see this series end.

    • Kristina April 19, 2014 at 12:36 pm Reply

      Me too!! I’m hoping we stay on the darker side.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. Candice April 23, 2014 at 11:34 am Reply

    OMG THIS BOOK!!! Seriously, my favorite so far of the series. Every time I see a friend say they love it I want to dance in the streets. 🙂

    • Kristina April 23, 2014 at 11:37 am Reply

      THEN LET THE DANCING COMMENCE!!!! 😛

      • Candice April 23, 2014 at 2:02 pm

        Let’s do this!

  3. […] BOOKS IN SERIES:  Grave Mercy & Dark Triumph […]

Leave a Reply

