Top 10 Tuesday #100

ttt

Top 10 Socially Awkward Characters

I don’t know why, but socally awkward characters are probably my favorite.  Maybe because I’m just like them…hmmm.  When I stumble across a book with these characters, I find that I end up empathizing with them on a much deeper level than most other characters.

22628

1. Charlie in The Perks of Being a Wallflower The title tells you he’s a wallflower, but Charlie is one of those perfectly wrought characters who make me completely envious of the author’s skills.  The movie is fantastic, too.

1885

2. Fitzwilliam Darcy in Pride and Prejudice.  If you don’t think that he’s socially awkward, we must not have read the same book.

227443

3.  Mark Darcy in Bridget Jones Diary.  Like his namesake, Fitzwilliam Darcy, Mark would definitely prefer to be around people he has known forever, or no one at all, than to be the center of attention.  He is such the opposite of the charismatic & devious Daniel Cleaver that I was surprised when she started to fall for him.

906104

4.  Jackie Pert Harrison in The Cubicle Next Door.  Jackie has more personality problems than just being socially awkward, but I love her!  I’ve read this book multiple times and I just feel for her on so many different levels.  Thank God she has Joe.

17339993

5.  Katharine in Project Daddy by Kate Perry.  Oh, Katharine is definitely much more comfortable with her best friend, Luc, who she is trying to convince to be the sperm donor for her boss.  Luc has other things in mind, like trying to get Katharine to finally see him in a romantic way.  I LOVE this book so much, I read it multiple times from the library & finally had to find a copy for myself.  Katharine is very awkward and I just love seeing her opening herself up to Luc.

600191

6.  Addison in Talking to Addison by Jenny Colgan.  Colgan is one of my favorite British chick lit authors & his book, about a girl who falls for her socially awkward, but gorgeous, new roommate, is funny & very sweet.

16068905

7.  Cath in Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.  Cath may not be the worst on the list, but she is awkward and it takes a lot of work from Levi to get her to open up to him.  I love this relationship & this book.

8909152

8.  Lincoln in Attachments by Rainbow Rowell.  This author is good at portraying socially awkward characters & this may be why I love her books so much.  Lincoln has a small group of good friends, but his social issues may be the reason why he finds it so hard to finally approach Beth.  Fantastic and underappreciated book.

15777621

9.  Elise in This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales.  This was one of my favorite books from last year. It’s a beautiful story of a girl who is so socially awkward, that she attempts suicide.  In the aftermath of this failed attempt, she finally finds something that makes her feel not like an outcast & this changes her life and her perception of herself.  If you haven’t read this book, you really should.

16181775

10.  Don in The Rosie Project by Greaeme Simsion. Don is a brilliant genetic scientist, but he decides he needs a wife and sets about finding the perfect one based on a long list of criteria.  Rosie defies all of the criteria, but they hit it off.  This is a brilliant, lovely book & I highly recommend it.

6633898

11.  Steven in Chemistry for Beginners by Anthony Strong.  In the tradition of The Rosie Project (thought it was written years before), Steven is a socially awkward scientist who eventually finds his soulmate.  Funny and sweet, this book is definitely worth finding.

13206828

(edited to add)

12. Cress in the Lunar Chronicles.  I love her so much, but her reactions and interactions with other humans are endearing and cringe-inducing.  Not that she can help it, though.

~*~

That’s all I have for this week, I hope you take the time to check out a few of these.

daph

10 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #100

  1. Christina April 22, 2014 at 8:49 am Reply

    ❤ Lincoln. So awkward! But he gets points for trying to turn his life around.

  2. Nicole @ The Quiet Concert April 22, 2014 at 9:19 am Reply

    I never really mind socially awkward characters but occasionally it is so exaggerated that it does frustrate me a little while reading cause i just want them to say something already!!. Like Emily at the beginning of Since You’ve Been Gone couldn’t form complete thoughts, let alone coherent sentences in public. It was a bit extreme. But I LOVED Cath in Fangirl and I loved This Song Will Save Your Life. Great topic!

  3. sarahdtowne April 22, 2014 at 9:47 am Reply

    I am loving Fangirl! And Attachments is next. Bridget Jones is one of my all-time favorite awkward characters 🙂

  4. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook April 22, 2014 at 3:26 pm Reply

    This is such a fun topic. I agree on all the books I’ve read. Definitely Mr. Darcy! And Don! But he totally knows that he’s socially awkward which makes me love him all the more. I also think Bridget Jones is a bit awkward, too. She puts her foot in her mouth at times.

  5. loveatfirstpage April 22, 2014 at 6:06 pm Reply

    Haha I love this list! Definitely agree about Cress (I def cringed for her), Don, Darcy, and RR’s characters.

  6. MJ Thomas April 22, 2014 at 6:40 pm Reply

    I love this list! 🙂

    My Top Ten Tuesday is here.

  7. Elizabeth April 23, 2014 at 3:06 pm Reply

    Oh man Cath really stole my heart! Even if I didn’t act quite as extreme as she did, I totally remember feeling all that insecurity and awkwardness as a college freshman. And I always have a swoony part of my heart for awkward guys like Darcy!

  8. elena April 23, 2014 at 5:52 pm Reply

    As a socially awkward person myself, love this list! So agree with Cath.

  9. Reviews from a Bookworm April 24, 2014 at 11:08 am Reply

    Great list and topic! I am a really socially awkward person, I am socially inept, so I do enjoy a socially awkward character as well. I adore Charlie, he was so damaged but just so wonderful and lovely. Elise I loved and I absolutely loved that book. I am like the ONLY person who didn’t really enjoy Fangirl, I just didn’t like Cath as a character and I didn’t really get the romance either. Here’s my TTT 🙂

  10. Ashley @The Quiet Concert April 26, 2014 at 3:51 pm Reply

    YES! Both Cath and Lincoln are so awkward but realistic they are fantastic! The realistic nature of Rowell’s characters is one of my favorite things about her books!

Leave a Reply

