I Like You Just the Way I Am by Jenny Mollen

justwayJenny Mollen is an actress and writer living in Los Angeles. She is also a wife, married to a famous guy (which is annoying only because he gets free shit and she doesn’t). She doesn’t want much from life. Just to be loved—by everybody: her parents, her dogs, her ex-boyfriends, her ex-boyfriends’ dogs, her husband, her husband’s ex-girlfriends, her husband’s ex-girlfriend’s new boyfriends, etc. Some people might call that impulse crazy, but isn’t “crazy” really just a word boring people use to describe fun people? (And Jenny is really, really fun, you guys!)

In these pages, you’ll find stories of Jenny at her most genuine, whether it’s stalking her therapist (because he knows everything about her so shouldn’t she get to know everything about him?); throwing a bachelorette party so bad that one of the guests is suspected dead; or answering the eternal question, Would your best friend blow your husband on a car ride to dinner if she didn’t know you were hiding in the backseat?

SOURCE:  ARC provided by the publisher for review

NOTE:  Since this isn’t a typical review book my normal review format has been edited to reflect this title.

 

About the Author:  I admit freely that I didn’t know who Jenny Mollen was before reading this book.  Reading the blurb you know she is married to the actor Jason Biggs (from American Pie fame) but its clear based on this book she is pretty damn funny on her own.  Jenny if for any reason you actually read this I now follow you and your husband but I totally followed you first. 😛

Overall Thoughts:

First, let me say (or warn) you about the language and subject matter.  While I’m no angel there were several moments that shocked me and for being a female author the language is extremely vulgar.  This didn’t dissuade me or bother me but I want to be clear while very funny if you aren’t comfortable with that then maybe you should pass on this one.  With that being said, I started laughing at the author notes.  I’m a huge fan of women who break stereotypes and Jenny is definitely one.  Hands down the bachelorette party in Vegas was the best story and I’m slightly jealous nothing that funny has happened to me.  If you aren’t too afraid of a few risqué stories and are in need of a good laugh you will definitely want to add this to your TBR list.  Jenny is my kind of people and I can’t wait to see what she puts in her next book.

4/5

kiki

 

 

3 thoughts on “I Like You Just the Way I Am by Jenny Mollen

  1. Candice April 28, 2014 at 11:26 am Reply

    Oh yay! I’m always surprised when I read books like these and the women are really vulgar. I don’t mind it, but it’s just a little eye-opening. I think because so often we think that women, no matter how they are, should be sweet and cute. I like when those stereotypes get to be broken! Glad this one was good; I’m excited to check it out soon!

    • Kristina April 28, 2014 at 11:30 am Reply

      Same! Just say no to sterotypes!

  2. Asheley Tart (@BookwormAsheley) April 30, 2014 at 2:38 pm Reply

    This sounds like it would be a great audiobook! I’ll be watching for it. (:

Leave a Reply

