That’s What They Said: Killer Instinct by S.E. Green

TWTS

 

KI

Killer Instinct by S.E. Green

She’s not evil, but she has certain… urges.

Lane is a typical teenager. Loving family. Good grades. Afterschool job at the local animal hospital. Martial arts enthusiast. But her secret obsession is studying serial killers. She understands them, knows what makes them tick.

Why?

Because she might be one herself.

Lane channels her dark impulses by hunting criminals—delivering justice when the law fails. The vigilantism stops shy of murder. But with each visceral rush the line of self-control blurs.
And then a young preschool teacher goes missing. Only to return… in parts.
When Lane excitedly gets involved in the hunt for “the Decapitator,” the vicious serial murderer that has come to her hometown, she gets dangerously caught up in a web of lies about her birth dad and her own dark past. And once the Decapitator contacts Lane directly, Lane knows she is no longer invisible or safe. Now she needs to use her unique talents to find the true killer’s identity before she—or someone she loves—becomes the next victim…

SOURCE: ARCs via publicist (THANKS!!)

Memorable Texts:

ki

Overall Thoughts:

Ok.  I’m not 100% sure what to say about this one.  Did I like it?  Yes, but there were some issues with it.  I loved the idea of it and it shows the darker side of contemporary (bonus points for the BAU – I LOVE Criminal Minds) which I am an a huge fan of so that played right into my wheelhouse but there were some parts that were a bit off to me.  I didn’t understand the purpose of a few characters even being in the book since they played no part in the conclusion-to me that is valuable story time that could have been added to beef up the overall effect.  Also, the talk of sex/sexual situations felt forced and unnecessary.  Not to mention that we go from zero to sixty in that area.  Lane thinks she could be a serial killer in the making and from what I know (admittedly not much) of serial killers there is more a lack of connection that she showed throughout and really she came off as just like any other damaged teen (though maybe a bit more than normal :P).

3.5/5

kiki

Overall Thoughts:

In the first chapter, I wasn’t sure I would like it because it did seem like I read something very similar, but I liked Lane, despite her darker tendencies.  And it wasn’t as dark as the other books that I’d read like this.  Lane is not completely as unemotional as she would have you believe because she does have a soft spot for her family.  I was enthralled with the book and arguing with Kristina on text about who the killer could be.  I thought it was very well done, an interesting take on contemporary YA.  I found myself pulling for Lane, despite her being a “bad guy” and being somewhat socially awkward with a big dollop of cynicism and anti-social personality disorder (yes, I diagnosed her myself).  I also really loved the way that Lane chose to work out her urges, it was brilliant.  I would not want to be on her bad side.  I do agree that the red herrings that were thrown in there were maybe a little much because, in the end, they did not contribute to the story and there was no closure in that story line.  I didn’t have a problem with the sexual situations (though the little peek into her parents’ sex life was too much) because it seemed organic to the story and Lane’s personality.  I would probably read another book if this were a series (though I don’t think it is).  And by the way, I freaking love this cover.

3.5/5

daph

 

One thought on “That’s What They Said: Killer Instinct by S.E. Green

  1. Candice May 2, 2014 at 8:41 am Reply

    This sounds very different. Like…. would be hesitant to pick it up different. But it seems like you both enjoyed it. I’m just a little hesitant to pick up murder mysteries… don’t know why!

Leave a Reply

